We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of The Greyhound

The Greyhound
Ranked #29 of 530 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Greyhound We are a beautiful Country Pub and Restaurant situated in the lovely village of Lower Penn. We aim to provide great food and drink, great service and a great time! We have a good selection of wines and spirits from around the world. We have four Real Ales available, including Enville Ale and Hobson's Town Crier. We also have four different lagers including international premium favourites such as Peroni and San Miguel. Cider drinkers are well catered for too, with Thatchers Gold always on tap. There is a large 'Sun Trap' patio and a beautiful garden area for you to enjoy. In good weather it is perfect for outdoor dining.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Sunday lunch with a group of 12 - excellent service, great fresh food and ale!

They seem to have it just right and the restaurant was busy throughout the afternoon and into the evening

Will definitely return and would recommend it to anybody

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Northcircular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 341 of 453 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Have been here a few times for lunch this summer. They have a lovely sunny terrace with lovely flowering baskets and roses so a really nice ambience and I like the fact that it is not on a main road and not one of the large 2 for 1 chains with loads of kids running around. staff have always been pleasant and attentive and the lunch menu at £6 is good value. The lasagne is lovely as is the fish and chips. The same menu is available early evening but I think the portion size is a bit smaller so will stick to lunch. Dog and kid friendly. What's not to like.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here for family Sunday lunch for 8. Main and dessert was ordered for all; service was prompt , warm but not too intrusive . Great beef roast dinner, fish dishes and desserts. Would definitely come here again as good quality, bookable places this side of Wolverhampton are hard to find.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrummieGirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

9 of us went out for a 50th Birthday meal, we all had a great meal, the staff were busy, but we had good service, good food, will be going again very soon,well done The Greyhound.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Noah2Birminham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The food is fine - decent pub grub. However, the food is overpriced and the service dreadful. It seems like the restaurant is more concerned with making money rather than delivering a good experience. Very rude staff. Won't be going there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Wolvo_Opinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy K, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to The Greyhound and would like to ask that you contact me to discuss further to clarify dime / date of visit etc. We are normally praised on the friendlieness of staff, certainly not the other way round so I would like to know a little more about your visit so that we can rectify your issues. I would ask if you can call and ask for Spencer, the manager, on 01902 620666 who will be interested in your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to The Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing