We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
York Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great Night in the York Hotel, arrived about 6.30pm - the lady at reception was really helpful told us where to get some food from (five minute walk) then let us eat our fish and chips in the bar area.

Room was lovely and spacious £65 for kingsize including breakfast - bargain only negative bathroom shower not so clean and the blinds didnt keep out enough light so had to use the curtains which were really just for show.

doubt we will stay in wolverhampton again but if we do will definately be at the York Hotel.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for York Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 142 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

We paid a tenner extra for a superior room - and it was fab: huge room with bay window, lots of space, fridge, tea and coffee facilities. Check in quick and easy, very friendly member of staff - we told her we had to leave before breakfast so she placed cereals/juice/milk in our room the night before so we wouldn't miss out. Handy location for the awesome Mother India Punjab restaurant next door and not far from the racecourse. We parked at the back for free.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed after working in the area , front on house staff very good ( Lucy) booked in good price (B&B) sat working in bar for two hours then called it a day , meal can't fault asked for the Tv in bar but informed not working ... Back to to room to watch tv .. TV old and dated . One remote not working yes the freeview one . Bed spot on closing the curtain I found them pin to the wood above the window so had to close them by pulling them up and over and around . Breakfast was loverly along with good service .. Would I stay again yes but not on room 12 ( top of the world)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank BMorriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkHotel, Owner at York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Fair review and the minuses are already in place to be sorted (if SKY ever get their finger out to replace the TV's). Room 12 is earmarked for a freshen up. Unfortunately the TV in the bar will not be replaced to the new extortionate cost of a PRS licence for it (more than 12 times the cost of the TV Licence!!!) for our little bar we could not justify replacing it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We held our wedding renewal party here and I cannot be positive enough about the wonderful service. The hotel has recently changed management , Paul the new owner produced a fabulous buffet and Chris the all round receptionist, bar man etc etc works so hard to make your stay memorable. Nothing was too much trouble, our family and friends took over the hotel for the weekend and I have never had such pleasant and happy personalised service any where ive stayed. The rooms are all in different styles , all comfortable, clean and well appointed. The breakfast was fabulous. Good choice and again good service.

Room Tip: room 6 has fabulous roll top bath !!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie88illena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just stayed at the York and I must say that we were really bowled over by the lovely warm greeting from the hotel member of staff, Chris. He made us feel really welcome. We found the rooms beautifully decorated, well equipped and comfortable. There is plenty of parking on site to the rear. Breakfast was delicious and again, nothing was too much trouble for Chris. We were really impressed with this hotel and will be staying again next time we are in the area. It's real value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 836LHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The York is Lovely hotel with friendly staff,clean rooms and a great breakfast. Would definitely recommend.
We arrived to attend the v festival and had rang to explain we would be arriving early To leave luggage. It caused no problem and was given our key to our accommodation knowing we might arrive home late.
When we did arrive home late there was a fantastic Scottish lady who was so helpful and made us a fantastic hot chocolate to send us of to bed.
Overall it was an excellent service

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel has potential BUT we did have to ask for toilet paper,tea and coffee, fresh towels etc. mainly because no one visited our room on a daily basis.The on duty staff were very helpful and the breakfasts were very good .There were NO evening meals.I did write to the manager but have received no reply, despite having been a guest on previous occasions.....this is disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesBrunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
1.4 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
788 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#7 of 21 in Wolverhampton
927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ely House Hotel
Ely House Hotel
#6 of 21 in Wolverhampton
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#2 of 21 in Wolverhampton
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Wolverhampton - Racecourse
Holiday Inn Wolverhampton - Race...
#10 of 21 in Wolverhampton
73 reviews
1.0 mi away
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
#16 of 21 in Wolverhampton
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Hotel

Address: 138 Tettenhall Road, Wolverhampton WV6 0BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range: $88 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished to exceptionally high standards offering the best unique rooms in Wolverhampton at great value. Handy for all local amenities, including city centre and race course. SKY TV & WiFi available in all rooms, superior rooms offer SKY Sports. Each room is equipped with Tea & Coffee making facilities plus a mini fridge.Our restaurant is now open Monday - Thursday serving hot food to residents & the public. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Hotel Wolverhampton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing