We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem of a Hotel”
Review of Ely House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ely House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little Gem of a Hotel”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

As a solo traveller I often find I am given the worst room available, but not in this case. The modern and tasteful decor of the room and en-suite was befitting of a four star hotel and both were spotlessly clean. They had even thought of a hot water bottle, extra blanket etc. Ken the manager and his staff were very friendly and helpful. I could not have asked for more and would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank towny4311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    66
    22
    10
    18
See reviews for
20
95
32
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Nice homely feeling to this place. Stayed there in two occasion both time excellent. Ken the owner also very friendly introduced me to a nice local restaurant Cafe Rickshaw which I also love and it's walking distance so I can have a drink without happen to worry about driving back. Looking forward to more stays.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had booked a night at the nearby horse races and were looking for somewhere reasonably priced nearby to stay overnight.Ely House was just the place.Great location,ample free parking,wi fi etc.Very friendly welcome(which lasted for the whole time),good sized comfortable room and a delicious freshly cooked and well presented breakfast.The building itself is a charming example of days gone by and we were told it is grade 2 listed.It is being well cared for and credit must go to the owners.We would definitely stay there again should we revisit the area,which we are likely to do as we enjoyed the whole experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britsontour72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I have just had a one night stay at this hotel.
The time on arrival was 12.55pm on a saturday afternoon and when we went into reception we were told in no uncertain terms that we were too early to check in and as the hotel was completely deserted I found this rather strange.
We enquired as to whether we could have lunch and was told that they didn't do food on weekend afternoons but to walk into the city instead where we would find somewhere to eat.
After lunch we returned and checked in the room was number 16 a newly refurbed executive room which was very clean, a lovely shower ( no bath in this room ) and a very large bed , one niggle was only 2 sachets of milk on the drinks tray which was nowhere near enough.The room was very good but I personally found that you wouldnt want a long stay in it as was not very big.
We were given instructions on how to re enter the hotel after 12.30 am and these were very clear and accurate.
We got a goodnights sleep and went down to breakfast which is between 8-9.30am which for a sunday seemed a bit early. Breakfast was a straight choice of english or continental with no cereals as a starter for yourfried breakfast , it was ok no better no worse.
We had decided on a 9.00 breakfast and just as we were finishing at 9.45 the radio was turned off and that was it , the most abrupt and rude end to any meal I have had.
Overall this hotel was ok but in my own opinion I thought the owner wanted you in and out of there as soon as possible and the place seemed to lack a bit of warmth and friendliness, having said that the price was competitive, this is a hotel where I will keep a close eye on reviews before deciding wether to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickenbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We came here to go to the races,we booked on booking.com which was easy to do we payed 65pound which was bargain to stay in a city for two with breakfast . I emailed ahead for a bottle of cava as it was my partners birthday it was brought straight to our room nice and cold and a really good price, our room was excellent we where made very welcome and the breakfast was beautiful, the price at the bar was really cheap to, theres plenty of free parking at the back to, we will defo come back :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed for 4 days at this delightful hotel in Wolverhampton. I would definitely recommend it to everyone. Positive emotions were felt from start to finish. The staff put in 100% to make sure everything was perfect. Breakfast was delicious. The newly refurbished room was exquisite: stylish, spacious and with great facilities. A truly wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Went for a friends party extremely busy road, room 15 is dated an attempt has been made to make presentable but needs major works. Ken is a little too intrusive to the extent of being pushy. Breakfast was cheep products however was edible but a little cold. Nothing like pictures on web site so don't be fooled....don't expect too much

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#6 of 20 in Wolverhampton
892 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 20 in Wolverhampton
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 20 in Wolverhampton
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
#15 of 20 in Wolverhampton
181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#2 of 20 in Wolverhampton
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ely House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ely House Hotel

Property: Ely House Hotel
Address: 53 Tettenhall Road, Wolverhampton WV3 9NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Wolverhampton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ely House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ely House Hotel is a jewel in the hotel market and a welcome change from large chain hotels. This elegant - impressive 18th Century Georgian converted school has been tastefully and sympathetically restored to a very high standard and retains a number of original features. The 18 well appointed rooms are spacious - warm and welcoming - each offering all the conveniences necessary to make your stay comfortable - TV with Video - direct dial telephones with fax and email facilities - courtesy trays - hair dryers - minibar - trouser press and power showers in the ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ely House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ely Hotel Wolverhampton
Ely House Hotel Wolverhampton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing