We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and great value for money”
Review of Ely House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ely House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm, friendly and great value for money”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at the high standard of accommodation at Ely House Hotel. I received a very warm welcome from the manager upon entering the hotel. My room was very well appointed, warm and welcoming. It was also spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was a good size and the shower was powerful. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Breakfast was brilliant; full English breakfast, coffee, orange juice and fresh fruit. Quality ingredients cooked to perfection. I will definitely book a room with them again should the need arise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    66
    22
    10
    18
See reviews for
20
96
32
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berks, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The room I stayed in was one which hasn't been renovated. It was very shabby and tatty and the only thing going for it was that it was a reasonable size. However the bathroom wasn't great, there was ceiling staining and the towels had holes in. No plug for the bath, and it smelled bad. Wifi didn't even come close to stretching to the room. Hairdryer stopped working within seconds of turning it on, though the receptionist brought me one as soon as I called down. Kettle set up really annoying - had to boil it on the floor as the only power point wasn't near furniture, door was a bit low on it's hinges so problematic to lock or unlock.
Overall, for the £52 for a single room (no breakfast) a rip off.
Only advantages: Shower quite powerful and room at the back so fairly quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Sanges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

During our recent visit to Wolverhampton to see a show at the Civic we stayed at the Ely House Hotel for two nights. I must say we were very pleasantly surprised having read few negative reviews about the hotel. Firstly, our room was recently decorated to a very high standard with 26” flat screen TV and good coffee making facilities. The bathroom was very beautiful with all the fitting and fixtures done to a high four star quality standard. The ambiance was surprisingly a relaxing one overall, with a tastefully done lounge and a bar with good selection of drinks to unwind your day. In our opinion, the service was exceptionally good for a small independently run hotel. The hotel in general is a little gem and I am sure once they have finished refurbishing, it would stand apart from other hotels in its class. We certainly will be using the hotel again and also recommend it to others visiting Wolverhampton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went to a concert in Wolverhampton so this Hotel is very very convenient and within easy walking distance. The staff at the hotel are all very helpful and lovely. The room was OK but needed some finishing touches such as soft furnishings, pictures and rugs to make it really up to standard. Having said that it was a large room and quite comfortable apart from only one pillow each being provided. Breakfast was great and there was a good choice and again the staff could not do enough to be polite and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaleshappyShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

If there's one thing I can't fault at the Ely House Hotel, it's the attentive service. The building, however, isn't quite as friendly. I suspect many guests will have - like me - tried to get in via the large and obvious front door, thwarted by the small note stating the entrance is in the rear. Once we'd found our way in we were greeted by a charming Romania receptionist-come-bartender. I didn't catch her name, but for the sake of brevity I shall call her Katrina since referring to her as charming Romania receptionist-come-bartender for the remainder of this review will become tedious.

The one thing you quickly learn about the Ely House Hotel is that it is quite a rabbit warren. The original grand house at the front of the property has been extended at the rear, but in a seemingly haphazard fashion. To get to the rooms at the back of the hotel you need to negotiate twists, turns and up and down stairs - even if your room is on the ground level, as mine was. For such a small hotel, it packs in a lot of corridors.

I'd booked what was described as an 'executive' double. It was spacious enough, although the additional area was poorly used. A little thought, and with some furniture a little better than the flat-pack wardrobe provided, this could have been much improved. A small sofa, coffee table and TV unit would have turned a bland, and rather optimistically titled 'executive' room, into a more inviting and practical place to spend time. Talking of the TV, I was disappointed by the 14" CRT provided here. The last time I used a set that small I was still sponging off my parents in a cupboard-sized bedroom. Built into the Ely's executive TV was a VHS player - another device I've not seen for a while. There is a reason for it though, since next to the reception desk there's a carefully arranged display of video tapes presumably you can borrow if the temptations of Wolverhampton don't tempt you out for the night. Being VHS though, don't expect release much beyond the age of Charlie's Angels. This is the video equivalent of a dentist's waiting room.

Back to the room, and the bath/shower was clean and clearly had recently been redone with big white tiles and high-end Grohe fittings; but it was let down by a poor finish, the boxing-in of pipes and sealant beading clumsily undoing the money spent on materials. The extractor fan was woefully inadequate at the job it had been installed for and occasionally chose not to turn on at all. Cue a steamy room with a bathroom mirror that refuses to de-mist, even with a stack of hand towels used in the charge against it.

Being December, and this being the far end of the hotel extension with three external walls, the room was a bit on the chilly side. A single radiator in the bedroom area wasn't pumping out an awful lot of heat even at setting six, and it seemed the hotel management had conceded defeat on this point since there was a fan heater tuck in the wardrobe. This particular fan heater was a curious device which made lots of noise and sparks, but not a lot of heat. If you stood right next to it your ankles would get a little warm, but as little as three feet away the chilling effect of the air turned the meagre energy of the fan heater into just a fan.

Of course of prime importance in a hotel bedroom is the bed, and in this respect the Ely failed me spectacularly. Never have I slept on a more knackered mattress. The springs on one side having given in to the weight of countless guests some time before, it created a slope which rendered sleep tricky unless you positioned yourself just right.

My colleague, having booked a single, was originally offered what can only be described as the 'Anne Franks Suite' in the tiny attic of the main building. To give her credit, Katrina - having spotted a slight disappointment on my colleagues face - offered to move him to a room closer to mine. The second room was indeed a great improvement on the attic. More space, better furnishings and a decent shower room, although still suffering from corner-cutting in the finish department.

All-in-all, the Ely House Hotel is far from a horrible experience, but it's very firmly in 2-star territory. Having previously stayed in the nearby Travelodge, I will admit the Ely is probably a little better for the same amount of money, unless Travelodge are running their £19 promos, in which case the Ely looks distinctly overpriced. I'm not sure I could hand-on-heart recommend this place to a friend. Without Katrina it would have been a much worse experience. As it was, my one night at the Ely was bearable, but I'm not rushing to repeat the experience.

Room Tip: Rooms in the extension/conversion are slightly bigger and better laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteJShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Arrived quite late after a long journey, easy quick check-in. Room was beautifully decorated, very clean, complimentary tea/coffee tray, nice bright lights and spotless large bathroom. I got an amazing deal through the hotels website; it was definitely better value than other local hotels. I would have no hesitation in recommending Ely House Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

cold is the word.access after midnight was a joke took an age to navigate the maze of dark corridors. More class found in a travel lodge.
Not what we expected. Must say staff where lovley and the room was very clean

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honest_tom49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
1.8 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 20 in Wolverhampton
723 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#6 of 20 in Wolverhampton
896 reviews
0.1 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#2 of 20 in Wolverhampton
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 20 in Wolverhampton
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
#15 of 20 in Wolverhampton
182 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ely House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ely House Hotel

Property: Ely House Hotel
Address: 53 Tettenhall Road, Wolverhampton WV3 9NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wolverhampton
#6 Business Hotel in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ely House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ely House Hotel is a jewel in the hotel market and a welcome change from large chain hotels. This elegant - impressive 18th Century Georgian converted school has been tastefully and sympathetically restored to a very high standard and retains a number of original features. The 18 well appointed rooms are spacious - warm and welcoming - each offering all the conveniences necessary to make your stay comfortable - TV with Video - direct dial telephones with fax and email facilities - courtesy trays - hair dryers - minibar - trouser press and power showers in the ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ely House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ely Hotel Wolverhampton
Ely House Hotel Wolverhampton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing