We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resturant”
Review of Shimla Balti

Shimla Balti
Ranked #11 of 477 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Resturant”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

In 1998 I visited this restaurant following a recommendation, since then I have returned and to this day they have maintained excellent hospitality, fantastic food and will accommodate any request. If you haven't been to The Shimla yet and you are a fan of fine, fresh Indian food then I strongly recommend. My Lamb Madras recently blew me away, Nom Nom chicken is just exquisite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 152Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    38
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“18 years of great food”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have been visiting the Shimla for 18 years and have never been disappointed...always great service and excellent food. We have recommended the Shimla to our extended family and friends and they have had great experiences too. Well done to everyone at the Shimla for providing us with great food and a relaxed and friendly environment. The Richards family will be with you for many many years to come x

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finnlolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

First time at shimla balti. Food was cold and tasteless. Plates were not even warm. Although the welcome and service was exceptional. Looked like the floor had not been swept, no toilet paper in the toilet. Would not reccomend this resteraunt at all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank anonymous_midland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Shimla Balti”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked for a saturday night to make sure we got a seat at this very popular restaurant the menu was very good and the quality of the food was very good along with the service of the staff.
The owner also made time to see if we enjoyed our meal and was to our liking.
The restaurant is very small and does not hold many people hence the continuous amount of people coming in and collecting take away but it still has a nice ambiance to it this seems to be a very busy restaurant so if you think of going on a saturday book a table in advance or be prepared for a wait on your table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank showysteve246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last minute booking, first class service”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Myself and friend were looking for somewhere to eat and stumbled upon this little diamond.
The waiter service was excellent, service with a smile. Whilst the restaurant is smaller than most it makes up for it in service and provides an intimate cosy atmosphere. Almost feeling like part of the family.

Food was well prepared and cooked to taste, deffinately recommend the kulchi naan (naan stuffed with vegetables).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RINA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimla Balti also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Shimla Balti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing