We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jo n”
Review of David Austin Roses

David Austin Roses
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alongside the Plant Centre are David Austin's beautiful 2 acre rose gardens. They are home to over 700 different varieties of roses, including the National Collection of English Roses which flower in fragrant flushes from late May until the first frosts. The rose gardens are open to the public 7 days a week, 9am to 5pm and entry is free. Advance booking is not required except for coach parties. Check our website for special events (Lunches, Talks, Garden Design Days) during the season.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jo n”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were given afternoon tea voucher for Christmas we decided to use them for my birthday. On arrival we were shown to our table that was scattered with roses petals and rose decorated china were offered tea( good choice) or coffee,. When the stand arrived with our sandwiches , scones and cakes the waitress told us anything we couldn't managed they you wrap up to take home. The food was lovely but YES we did take 1 scone and 4 cakes home. Ever table took food home it was very filling. We even had more drinks. The staff were friendly, efficient . The tearoom is light and airy . It's was a wonderful present. A lovely way to celebrate something special.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    116
    27
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“David Austin Roses - Amazing”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I visited David Austin Roses in July this year. Whilst it is a garden centre with plant sales, tea room and shop the main attraction is the rose gardens. They are amazing. The David Austin roses are world famous and here they are on display in the gardens. The fragrance is intoxicating making it a good place for people who have a visual impairment sine they can share in the experience even though they may not be able to see the roses.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If Roses are your Thing”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A class act. Very professional, well laid out and an upmarket Tea Room to boot.
I am no Rose addict, but in my view, a good healthy stock was on view. Well worth a look.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank j11ptw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stroud
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A really lovely treat”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have just come back from a very enjoyable day at David Austin Roses. The gardens are lovely. Every rose is clearly labelled. There are free catalogues and bed guide so that you can identify and look for particular plants. There is also a guide for the plant nursery. We were unable to locate a particular rose and a member of staff checked the stock and then went and got more plants. All the staff in both restaurant and gallery tea room were really polite and helpful.
The cake was delicious and lunch was amazing - fresh seasonal salads, lovely dressings, combinations and lots of seafood to choose from - couldn't fault it. It was one of the best birthday treats I have had.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank c s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“flower power”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

lots of assorted roses to see and buy worldwide delivery my friend works there and travels worldwide to assist with after sales

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Austin Roses also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to David Austin Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing