We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Ladies who lunch”
Review of The Mermaid

The Mermaid
Ranked #70 of 507 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Mermaid in Wightwick is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Wolverhampton, UK
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Ideal for Ladies who lunch”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A nice easy to reach location, not crowded, friendly staff & prompt service.
Varied menu although we each decided that we would perhaps try something different next time, declined coffee as it did not impress us on our last visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    133
    86
    48
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could be a better”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Met up with a friend for Sunday Lunch. Been to The Mermaid a few times before and on the last occasion, the service was painfully slow. Thankfully, this time, it was a bit quieter & the service was a bit better. Had reserved a table, & when we arrived, they tried to put us in this dark corner at the back of the pub. As it was a nice sunny day, we asked if we could sit at the front of the pub & this met with disgruntled 'well ok then'. Not a good start. And it wasnt as if there weren't any tables free! Menu is OK, but, as with most pub chains, everything sounds much better than the reality. I ordered the chicken breast stuffed with asparagus etc etc & when it arrived, it had some sort of lump of stuff just tucked under the skin which didn't tast of anything in particular. These things obviously arrive on a lorry and are re-heated to order. My friend ordered the roast, and this proved to be a better option. A nice touch on the desserts menu is to have a mini pudding with a cup of coffee & I went for this option. When the coffee arrived, I was asked if I wanted sugar, which I didn't, to which the waitress rather sarcastically commented 'no, I thought you wouldn't!' Not sure what that meant. Oh, and she reeked of cigarette smoke. The service here is patchy. The food is decidedly average, but from experience, its actually one of the best in the area. Oh dear!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oswestrian720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Don,t eat outside!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just visited the Mermaid for the first time. We received a warm welcome from the staff and enjoyed the wood panelled interior which created a cosy atmosphere. There is a wide choice of food on the menu and prices are very competitive. Service was reasonably brisk although my wife did not exactly get what she ordered. This was put right with alacrity. The food we chose was well presented on warm plates. There are tables outside but they overlook a very busy road junction. All in all a pleasant venue for lunch.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good value food and nice pub”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice country pub, excellent place for a relaxed meal and a pint.
Good value food with a mixed menu with something for everyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamlilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice to have you back!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Having given the mermaid a wide berth over the last couple of yrs due to poor value food and disappointing service, what a pleasant surprise we had during an inpromptu visit last sunday. Our party of four were able to order sunday lunch from the comfort of our table...no more waiting in a queue at the bar. The service was attentive...friendly and professional. The food was piping hot,delicious and plentiful. In fact we enjoyed our visit so much we returned again later in the week. Management are to be congratulated on the vast improvements all round. Well done!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anthony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mermaid also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to The Mermaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing