We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Wombourne Tandoori

Wombourne Tandoori
Ranked #104 of 531 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Wombourne's premier and longest established bangladeshi Restaurant under the expert management of Rafique Miah and his brother, Head Chef Makhan Miah. Established in 1989.We are proud to announce that we have received a 5 Star Rate My Place Award Presented by the South Staffordshire Council.Winner of ''SIMPLY THE BEST'' Restaurant Competition 2009Winner of the ''SPOTLIGHT AWARDS'' Best Eating Place - 2007/2008
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I visited Wombourne Tandoori on a friend's recommendation but, sadly, it was a bit of a let-down. The table was cramped and the service slow. The initial poppadoms were satisfactory but the accompanying sauces were watery and bland. When my main course arrived (keema mattar) it didn't look particularly appetizing. A taste confirmed that it was like something that had crawled out of a tin: sloppy, nondescript and cold. Maybe my taste-buds have been spoilt by Patak's and that's why eating this meal only vaguely reminded me of something like eating a curry. I tasted my friend's chicken Rogan Josh and it was the same sauce (scandal!)

Seeing that there are many positive reviews for this restaurant, I can only assume that there are other competent chefs working at this place but I'm afraid I won't be taking that risk!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LilBeaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shalek m, Manager at Wombourne Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Many thanks for your review. We are a busy restaurant particularly at weekends but do apologise if you had a long wait for table service. However we are very disappointed to read your critical comment on your chosen meal - keema mattar. This is a delightfully tasty dish with freshly minced lamb cooked with original spices - NOT out of a Pataks bottle but mixed and ground by our chefs. A rogoni dish uses a different mix of spices and should not be found to be similar to other dishes.
Once again we do apologise we did not meet your standards. We do hope that you will visit us sometime in the near future and let us show you that your experience was a one off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 221 of 262 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a take-away from here on Wednesday night prawns were under cooked and the sauce was watery and tasteless. Have been here before and its been lovely but very disappointing last few times.

    • Value
    • Food
1  Thank jaime-lee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shalek m, Manager at Wombourne Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn that your take-way meal was disappointing and wish that you had complained at the time and we would have tried to put the matter right if possible. We realise that being a takeaway meal it might have been difficult to deliver a replacement meal to you in a reasonable time but we could have tried. We do hope that you will visit us again and show you that your experience was a one-off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Have dined here for years at least twice a month & the food & service has always been good.
Try the specialalitys for a treat they are excellent or you can just have standard curry fare.
Best to reserve a table at weekend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RoyW81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

food is average but what makes it worst it is the colour: glowing red food, arrogant service. overrated. better stick with the others. not going back again.

2  Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shalek m, Manager at Wombourne Tandoori, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your time to leave a review. The overuse of artificial colouring agents has been a fault with non-traditional Indian cooking in the UK for years. True Asian cooking rarely relies on such agents and we try to follow their example. We have been criticised on occasions where the popular Chicken Tikka Masala prepared in our kitchen is not vivid red as often served in other restaurants. Reference to our printed menus shows our philosophy on this subject. We apologise if any of our staff appear to be arrogant. Differences in cultures with language difficulties may sometimes lead to misunderstandings for which we apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My family and a friend dined here for the first time on Sunday 19th May 2013. We had received some literature previously which stated that this restaurant has a policy of avoiding genetically modified ingredients wherever possible, and that is what attracted us to try it out (plus the fact of some excellent reviews and awards). One of my guests is a professional Trainer in Food Hygiene & Health and Safety. All of us were very impressed by cleanliness and style of the Restaurant, and also the attention paid to us by the Staff and the professionalism with which we were served. The food also was extremely good and it was a lovely atmosphere. The Staff were extremely courteous, took our coats, poured our wine, asked if we were ready for our next course or did we want a break between courses, friendly and considerate. We shall be visiting again for sure. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wombourne Tandoori also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Brierley Hill, West Midlands
 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Wombourne, Staffordshire
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Wombourne Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing