We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent good food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wombourne Tandoori

Wombourne Tandoori
Ranked #66 of 473 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Wombourne's premier and longest established bangladeshi Restaurant under the expert management of Rafique Miah and his brother, Head Chef Makhan Miah. Established in 1989.We are proud to announce that we have received a 5 Star Rate My Place Award Presented by the South Staffordshire Council.Winner of ''SIMPLY THE BEST'' Restaurant Competition 2009Winner of the ''SPOTLIGHT AWARDS'' Best Eating Place - 2007/2008
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistent good food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Have dined here for years at least twice a month & the food & service has always been good.
Try the specialalitys for a treat they are excellent or you can just have standard curry fare.
Best to reserve a table at weekend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyW81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    47
    24
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wombourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“shocking colour”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

food is average but what makes it worst it is the colour: glowing red food, arrogant service. overrated. better stick with the others. not going back again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shalek m, Manager at Wombourne Tandoori, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your time to leave a review. The overuse of artificial colouring agents has been a fault with non-traditional Indian cooking in the UK for years. True Asian cooking rarely relies on such agents and we try to follow their example. We have been criticised on occasions where the popular Chicken Tikka Masala prepared in our kitchen is not vivid red as often served in other restaurants. Reference to our printed menus shows our philosophy on this subject. We apologise if any of our staff appear to be arrogant. Differences in cultures with language difficulties may sometimes lead to misunderstandings for which we apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paul P - "Excellent Service & Great Food"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My family and a friend dined here for the first time on Sunday 19th May 2013. We had received some literature previously which stated that this restaurant has a policy of avoiding genetically modified ingredients wherever possible, and that is what attracted us to try it out (plus the fact of some excellent reviews and awards). One of my guests is a professional Trainer in Food Hygiene & Health and Safety. All of us were very impressed by cleanliness and style of the Restaurant, and also the attention paid to us by the Staff and the professionalism with which we were served. The food also was extremely good and it was a lovely atmosphere. The Staff were extremely courteous, took our coats, poured our wine, asked if we were ready for our next course or did we want a break between courses, friendly and considerate. We shall be visiting again for sure. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top nosh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I’m a regular diner at Wombourne Tandoori, I went along with a few of my mates for a Thursday night out with the lads.

They’re from Birmingham and have eaten at many Asian establishments, they said it was the best meal they had ever eaten and will be back with their girlfriends.

The staff are always friendly, great service and atmosphere, as usual Rafique looked after us all.

We couldn’t believe our eyes when we looked over and saw Ken Downing from Judas Priest tucking into his Curry!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food , great atmosphere , excellent service ..... WOW!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Came to the restaurant with four friends and have to say it was one of the best Indian restaurants I have been to in a long time!! The owner Rafique made us all feel so welcome and explained each dish and recommended the dishes for us to try so we have all tried a different dish than usual !! The waiters were always making sure that all of our drinks were topped up!! Whilst eating we noticed a celebrity eating on the next table, KK Downing from Judas Priest!!! I will definitely be returning to wombourne tandoori and would recommend anyone who wants a great evening with excellent food and service!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wombourne Tandoori also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Kingswinford, West Midlands
 
Wombourne, Staffordshire
Brierley Hill, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Wombourne Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing