We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Reviewed December 26, 2013

AT last a hotel that understands guests want their rooms with enough lights so they can see- well done. Comfortable bed, peaceful sleep. Friendly helpful staff and lovely breakfast. 20 min. walk into city centre but on a bus route.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank rockchick1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Very grateful for your feedback following your stay at the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 723 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed here as part of a wedding party, we never thought to check our bedding before we slept in the sheets that was a very bad mistake. In the morning when we woke and pulled the duvet back the bottom of the sheets had large blood spots where a previous guest had scabbing ankles which and had left blood spots behind disgusting also another member of our party woke to find dirty tissues in the bed.
The bedding is obviously not changed between guest .

Room Tip: Check under your duvet for clean sheets when you first arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ANGELEYESGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Many thanks for your feedback following your stay earlier this year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed here as we were at a concert nearby . Well situated only a mile from the centre. It's on a main road so you may want to ask for a room away from this . Rooms were fine some sights of wear but nothing excessive ,good size and comfy bed. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. When we got back after the concert the bar area had taken its toll from a Xmas do and someone had broken a sink in the toilet and wrecked a bin. Don't take a booking from those guys again! . Great staff at breakfast

Room Tip: Away from road if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Many thanks for your comments - we have now successfully "pieced" the hotel back together after the festive season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here on the 13th December as part of my works Christmas function.
Where to start really,
Reception and check in good nice seating area by the cocktail bar and restaurant very modern.
Bedroom good size bed nice and soft plenty of pillows and shower nice and hot with good water pressure.
Restaurant very nice when we went down for breakfast next morning good choice on the menu and met by friendly staff with smiling faces which is good to see.
Must point out Jenny and Tina who looked after us very well during breakfast.
The evening function was good nice to see it full and the food for a works Christmas meal was A1 ,
pate was nice for main I had the salmon cooked just right and the lobster sauce was lovely.
Cheesecake was homemade which is one of the best I have every tasted nearly on par with the cheesecake factories own .
I can only rate this hotel as I found it and that was simply top marks .
Would stay here again if needed to .
Well done mercure.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Rip07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thanks for leaving your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel - glad that you had a good party and look forward to seeing you back this year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last night. The room that i was allocated was at the separate conference centre building. so having to walk in the torrential rain is not great. I need to use a key to enter this building, then have to remember a 6 digit passcode to open the second door, then finally use my door keycard to enter my room. what a hassle. There is a swimming pool facilities on site, but i didn't try it because it was too cold. The receptionist was friendly. i asked for an ironing board, and was delivered within 15 minutes. overall experience good. paid £63 for a double room

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank szu t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay at the hotel
Pool area heating - is now being reviewed and hopefull rectified shortly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I didn't like this hotel at all when I first arrived - it seemed very old fashioned, with creaking floorboards and very dated decor. However, I must say it grew on me. The room was quite spacious and the bathroom pretty new. I thought the evening meals were good - very much traditional British fare, nicely done. I quite liked the dining room too, although they had the radio on all the time, which I thought was strange. As it was Heart, one of my favourite stations, it wasn't so bad! Most of the staff were friendly enough as well.

However, there were too many things I just didn't like. The location is inconvenient if you aren't in a car. I didn't like the area at all - it wasn't that far out from town, but the walk in was unpleasant, through graffiti-covered subways. There are buses, but it's a faff. There were also some faults with the room like flickering lights which suggested to me that maintenance and checking of facilities may not be done properly. Generally the hotel seemed to be popular with building contractors and the like, with football permanently on the TV in the bar - not really my thing. To be fair, though, I would agree that the hotel has quite a relaxed atmosphere and the common areas downstairs are perfectly ok. I have stayed in worse places.

It is clearly a hotel with some potential, which is probably why Mercure have taken it over. I'm sure, given time, they will whip it into shape. At the moment though, I wouldn't really recommend it. Only the food makes me give it three stars, otherwise it would have been two. There are better places in Wolverhampton.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Many thanks for your comments - have passed the maintenance comments on as this definately should not be happening

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Once again, and for many many years now we have enjoyed special family occasions at The Goldthorn. Today was no exception with great service and delicious food - Merry Christmas to you all & see you again soon. Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gailsephton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments - merry christmas to you and your family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
1 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#7 of 21 in Wolverhampton
973 reviews
1 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 21 in Wolverhampton
971 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Wolverhampton North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wolverhampton
472 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
882 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ely House Hotel
Ely House Hotel
#6 of 21 in Wolverhampton
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Address: 126 Penn Road, Wolverhampton WV3 0ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range: $59 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy reach of M6/M54/M5 and NEC, the Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel offers some pleasant surprises. With original features throughout the bar area and a contemporary restaurant, the hotel provides an excellent setting from which to base your visit to the Midlands. There is also the opportunity to upgrade to one of six, four poster rooms, besides the other 76 well appointed en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goldthorn Hotel Leisure
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing