We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Our second visit.”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our first visit was excellent as we stayed in the business centre. This time not so good. The price was right for us at £48 a night. But. The room was one of the noisiest I've ever stayed in,;the secondary double glazing had been removed and as we were overlooking the road the traffic was constant all night. As well as the traffic, we arrived for a Thursday night and there were at least one Stag / Hen party staying. They arrived back around 2.30 and started arguing and fighting outside our room. We rang reception at 3 and then the arguing carried on in the car park outside our room. Not the hotels fault I know, but consequently we only slept for an hour. Plus points- staff were very good, as was the buffet breakfast. Not sure If I'd stay again though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the business centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Many thanks for your comments - sorry to hear about the noisy you experienced
Will pass comments onto the night staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    209
    176
    84
    50
See reviews for
100
250
36
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed as part of a deal which included accommodation, evening meal, breakfast and attraction tickets. Excellent value. Reception area is nice and modern looking but the stairs need new carpet and painting. Room was large enough for 2 adults and 2 children. Bathroom nicely tiled and clean. Breakfast is buffet style, not amazing standard but ok. Evening meal was awesome. I heartily reccomend the fish n chips. Fantastic!!!! Staff very helpful. Pool area in dye need of upgrade. Changing rooms are awful, no lockers and just a couple of plastic garden chairs. Pool was also very salty. All in all good but with a little money invested it could be awesome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaddy0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and your points have been duly noted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

we had a lovely afternoon tea with beautiful fresh sandwiches , fresh cream scones,fresh strawberries,endless tea & a glass of chilled white wine. service was great,helpful staff, nice surroundings & atmosphere.
i would recommend this to anyone, we'll go again soon for a festive lunch , then christmas shopping in wolverhampton,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank del1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments - hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Staff welcoming . Arrived late after not being able to find it. In need of upgrading decoration tired. Room clean . Bathroom beautifully tiled, but toilet seat broken. Toilet door all paint chipped off. Dressing table too big for space so jutted out in front of bathroom door? Bar area depressing . But staff couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bbbnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback - if you could possibly email me on gm@hotels-wolverhampton.com with the room number that you stayed in so that the necessary action can be taken by our maintenance team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCESTER
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I visited here for with a friend for afternoon tea using a groupon voucher. we have eaten better sandwiches in a supermarket cafe!On arrival we were not shown to our table and told to sit where we liked, not difficult as the restaurant was empty at 1.15 pm! We were offered a glass of wine or a soft drink which was included in the offer. The sandwiches were brought to the table on a plate which was tarnished and shared their space with two scones. There was a separate bowl which had some peanuts and a few crushed crisps in. We were not asked whether we would like brown or white bread and were served both neither of us normally eat white bread. The bread was cheap sliced bread and a cheap spread had been used on it. The fillings wer quite skimpy and were egg,ham, grated cheese and I think tuna. Not at all attractive. There were two scones which were very dry and I would suggest a cheaper supermarket brand, these were served with strawberries and squirty cream. The tea and coffee pots were half full and not that hot. The waitress could not understand English so communication was poor. We were not asked if we were ok and no one bothered to speak to us as we left the hotel. We most definitely will not return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorcesterWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback and your email
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wolverhampton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had afternoon tea here last week using a Wowcher voucher. The staff were friendly and efficient and the food was lovely. Really enjoyed the afternoon, so much so that will book a Sunday lunch for my husband's birthday next month.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

it's been a whle since I stayed here but it sticks out in my mind as having great staff. they really went above and beyond and were so friendly. A lady even drew us a map to get to cadburys world. Realistically the rooms aren't luxorious but the price we paid meant we weren't expecting them to be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyH_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback - glad you enjoyed your staff with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#6 of 21 in Wolverhampton
905 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
753 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 21 in Wolverhampton
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ely House Hotel
Ely House Hotel
#5 of 21 in Wolverhampton
261 reviews
0.9 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#2 of 21 in Wolverhampton
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
#16 of 21 in Wolverhampton
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Property: Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Address: 126 Penn Road, Wolverhampton WV3 0ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy reach of M6/M54/M5 and NEC, the Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel offers some pleasant surprises. With original features throughout the bar area and a contemporary restaurant, the hotel provides an excellent setting from which to base your visit to the Midlands. There is also the opportunity to upgrade to one of six, four poster rooms, besides the other 76 well appointed en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goldthorn Hotel Leisure
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing