We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good nights stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Malton
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good nights stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night as part of a coach trip for a show in Birmingham. We asked for and got a downstairs room but unfortunately not a disabled room, but hey for 1 night so what !!!
The room (room 80) was down the side of the hotel which was a period style room with a 4 poster bed (without the curtains) a high deep patterned tiled ceiling and cornice and a good size, the bathroom was floor to ceiling tiled and spotlessly clean. As we were late arriving due to the volume of traffic on the motorway the hotel extended their lunch time restaurant opening time and provided us with a meal before we set off again for the theatre. The roast chicken and veg meal we had was very good and well presented and the breakfast in the morning was buffy style and good. The staff were all very friendly especially Josh the night porter who helped to lift my mobility scooter up the 3 steps to our room at 1245am and down again before he left at 8am. What bit of the hotel we did see seemed to be clean, tidy and well organized and I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for leaving your comments after your recent stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    203
    166
    74
    46
See reviews for
96
241
36
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in this hotel last night for one night and found it to be perfectly adequate for the price.

The room we had (room 80) was lovely with a four poster bed, ornate ceiling and nice shower (no problems with hot water). After sleeping in the bed, I can say the main problem the hotel has is it is so close to the main road. Even though we weren't directly facing the main road it kept both of us awake and we felt quite tired in the morning.

We can't comment on the food (although the buffet breakfast didn't look anything special) but the leisure club was fine and we had a nice swim. The floor was quite dirty however and looked as though it was in need of a clean.


It's within walking distance of the town centre which is great. There is a KFC, McDonalds and Waitrose right nearby. The staff were also very helpful with any questions we had. There is plenty of car parking too.

Overall, perfectly OK for one or two nights, any more than that the road noise could start to become a problem.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HattersOnTour86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Many thanks for your review following your recent stay
Comments about leisure club floor have been noted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Three members of my family and I had purchased the afternoon tea Groupon offer and I enjoyed my visit.

We were shown to our table and asked what wine or fruit juice we wanted as this was included in the deal. We were then bought a big plate of sandwiches such as cheese and pickle, ham and tomato and turkey and cranberry. This was accompanied by nuts, tortilla chips, fresh strawberries, a scone each and some whipped cream. Of course this was washed down with copious amounts of tea.

Overall the food quality was fine, not excellent. Sandwiches were freshly made and the strawberries were fresh. Some better quality scones (I believe they were just standard supermarket scones) and cream would've been nice as they are the staple of an afternoon tea.

We were served in the restaurant which was light and airy and all staff were pleasant and helpful.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessAM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Many thanks for leaving feedback and I am glad that you had a good experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

My mum bought me a groupon voucher for afternoon tea for four people at the Goldthorn hotel in Wolverhampton as part of a birthday treat. I have been to many afternoon tea experiences, some as part of groupon offers and others that I have just paid out for myself.

Upon arrival at the Goldthorn, the staff were far from helpful at showing us to the area of the hotel we would be seated in. We were left wandering around trying to find the correct area. Once seated, again the staff weren't attentive. The appearance of the room we were placed in was ok, But the setting of the table was extremely basic- there were stains on the table cloth and it generally looked unkempt.

We ordered a soft drink each, and when mine arrived there was lipstick on the glass. I called the waitress over who took my glass from me without uttering a word. Another glass was brought to the table again, without as much as an apology.

The substance of the afternoon tea was actually shocking. We were given 2 quarters of a sandwich each, a shop bought scone and a few peanuts/crisps.

The tea was just average tea, and the coffee looked and smelt more like dish water.

Over all the experience was more than disappointing. I was also shocked to find out that they normally charge £10 per head for the afternoon tea! I have been to teas at the York hotel in Wolverhampton and Glutton for Nourishment in Tettenhall which are around the same price and have been exceptionally good!

I always thought that businesses used Groupon as a method to introduce customers to their venue in hope that they may return in the future. Due to the poor service, level of cleanliness and general substance of the afternoon tea, I would not return in the future for tea, hotel stay, drinks or meals. And I would highly recommend that others do the same.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback and my sincere apologies for the problems that you encountered
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wolverhampton hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We attended a wedding reception and stayed at the Mercure Wolverhampton. It was a disappointing experience. The hotel was really uncomfortably hot in most public areas, food was bland, and the infrastructure was tatty. This didn't stop the hotel charging top prices at the bar though - £20 for an ordinary bottle of Sauvignon Blanc, and £4.70 for a bottle of still mineral water.

In the corridor outside our bedroom there was an exposed soil pipe, and in the bedroom itself the window was screwed shut (and the job hadn't been done by a master craftsman); given the ambient heat, this made the room very uncomfortable.

We won't be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Montcairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel
Apologies that you were not happy
Maintenance defects are being dealt with
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a deal monster for the safari park at £139 for 2 adults 2 kids DBB. Good value.
We have only 1 child with us.
Downstairs looks modern but overall the hotel could do with a spruce up.
We stayed in room 45 which was spacious and plenty of space with 2 camp beds up. However the cleaners need taking to task or whoever moved the desk to fit the beds in as you can plainly see the dirt dust and bits left where the desk was and also where 1 of the camp beds now is. Also the dust on top of the phone point - nice.
Bathroom is nice but needs tiles replacing and I'm not sure how gravity is allowing the towel rail to stay in place. Nice new flat screen tele though.
Main restaurant meal was ok. As another advisor wrote cant say I've seen fruit juice as a starter before! Main course was basic choice of pork chops, or fusili spag Bol which really needed some oxo or veg stir fry.
Dessert was better n daughter enjoyed 3 balls of ice cream.
Service was provided by 2 waitresses, 1 particularly rushed off her feet. One gent not doing a lot at front of house. Also had s wedding on - need more staff as it was busy.
Used the pool. Changing room was ok but no lockers available.
Pool was definately a salt/chlorine pool which tasted foul and was very cloudy. Chemicals need a check I think. Also the pool area needed an industrial clean!
Breakfast next day was nice but need to keep a steady supply of plates and food. Poor waitresses were run off feet again.
Overall a reasonable price package for safari park deal. I wouldn't rush back to the hotel though.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggs20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Many thanks for your comments following your stay at the hotel and sorry that you were not entirely happy. All feedback passed onto departments concerned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I took 17 passengers here as part of a Tour, some were given single rooms even though they paid for a twin or double. My room had no hot shower and i was told to run the bath tap for 5 minutes then run the shower.What a farce in the end cold showers and given a key to use another room to shower in only. No hairdryer, tv on the side of a wardrobe. Never again.

Room Tip: Don't use room 10 or 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback following your stay - apologies for the hot water - will look into this as boilers on full and hot water in other areas
Hairdryers are also available from reception if not in the room - not sure if you mentioned this to the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#5 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#2 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ely House Hotel
Ely House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Property: Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Address: 126 Penn Road, Wolverhampton WV3 0ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy reach of M6/M54/M5 and NEC, the Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel offers some pleasant surprises. With original features throughout the bar area and a contemporary restaurant, the hotel provides an excellent setting from which to base your visit to the Midlands. There is also the opportunity to upgrade to one of six, four poster rooms, besides the other 76 well appointed en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goldthorn Hotel Leisure
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing