We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Had 3 course Sunday lunch and can't fault it at all it was lovely food pipping hot staff very polite at all times nice cup of tea and coffee after so if u read some revies on here bad well all I can say is try it because its worth it we didn't stop though just Sunday dinner but the hotel it's self is clean

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lwhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Glad you had a good visit to the hotel - hope to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    203
    166
    74
    46
See reviews for
96
241
36
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Alicante
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at this venue many years ago when it was under different ownership, and as an Accor Le Club member, I was looking forward to seeing the changes Accor had made when rebranding this hotel under the Mercure banner. Clearly this rebranding and new ownership took place a while ago! Whilst the reception, bar and restaurant are welcoming, modern and clean enough, the rooms, corridors and stairwells have unfortunately not well maintained. Our room had nice soft furnishings modern style hotel furniture and was of a sufficient size. However the net curtains were filthy and there were many scuff marks to the old, grubby paintwork. Incidentally there is no airconditioning. Our main disapppointment was the bathroom. A broken bath panel which had clearly been broken for sometime was covered in gaffer tape as a makeshift mend. There was coffee splashed up the bathroom door, at least that's what we hoped it was! Worst was the fact there was no hot water to shower or wash with in the morning. This hotel management needs to action with their maintenance and cleaning staff. On the plus side, front of house staff were very pleasant and helpful. They delivered an iron and board to my room, unfortunately it was extremely old, battered and struggled to stay up, but it did the job! With its pool and fitness centre,its modernisation under the Mercure brand and pleasant staff this hotel could and should be so much better, but I guess you get what you pay for, it wasn't expensive and was in a good location for my evening out!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey74alc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay
All comments have been passed to relevant departments and necessary action has been taken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Travelling on a coach tour you never know what to expect.
What a pleasant surprise, we were met by a friendly man who seemed to keep the Hotel running efficiently. The only drawback was that we were on the top floor & no lift, Staff very kindly took my friends case up/downstairs without being asked, which was greatly appreciated.
The room was small but adequate for our overnight stay, a little noisy from traffic (cant do much about that), we did have the windows open as the room was very warm even with the heating off.
The food was excellent, nice to have tables for 2 as well, the Staff were pleasant and knew what was expected of them, nothing too much trouble, bed was comfortable, the room & public areas were clean. Did not try the leisure facilities-What more can I say. Can recommend.

Room Tip: Room 29, top floor,overlooked car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Many thanks for leaving your kind feedback following your recent stay at the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Excellent over night stay, stayed in the business centre very comfortable, staff very obliging, food ok for what we paid but we could of up graded, breakfast was excellent, nice to see local staff, would definitely go again and take swim wear to enjoy the leisure facilities

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjpevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andg2005, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and glad you had a good stay
Hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I paid £12.00 for afternoon tea for two with wine from Wowcher. On arrival we were kept waiting for someone to attend to us as a large group had just arrived and there only appeared to be two people on duty. Finally we were shown to a table, I was worried immediately by the stale smell in the restaurant. The tables were pre laid. I swapped my side plate 3 times before finding a clean one. The chairs we sat on were covered in crumbs. We were offered tea, coffee or a soft drink, no mention of wine. The tea arrived by a member of staff that just plonked it on the table without a word. The sandwiches were stale and dry, the ham was fat, no sign of pink meat. There was a small piece of chocolate cake and the smallest, driest scone I have ever seen. The cream was not real. We picked at bits of it and just couldn't wait to get out of one of the seediest hotels I have ever been in. Take my advice, steer clear of this awful hotel. I only wish I could get a refund from Wowcher.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally0794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andg2005, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback and I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable experience
You are able to contact Wowcher for a refund as far as I am aware - there is a policy on the email voucher - hope that this information helps you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wolverhampton hotels

Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Thank you for another good stay in your hotel, we had room 81 and loved it. Staff again very nice people. There was a wedding on when we were there no prob there was lots of staff on and the hotel still looked its best well done you. See you all soon.

Room Tip: we had room 81 which has a four poster bed very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andg2005, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay - hope to welcome you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Really impressed with the quality of the hotel. The room was really clean and modern with a comfortable double bed, tea and coffee set, TV with freeview, two leather chairs (one armchair and one more of a dining chair) and ample space. I was happy to find some complimentary shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom and a hairdryer in one of the drawers in the room.

One of the highlights was the fact I could leave my car on the day of check out and avoid paying for a car park in the centre of town! As we planned to spend the whole day at a festival, it was a weight off my mind to be parked a little further out without having to pay extortionate city centre car park fees. The hotel is only about 15 minutes walk away from the city centre and it was easy to get there by foot.

There is also a 24 hour bar and after coming back at around midnight, the kind worker who opened the door for us also happily poured us a drink - great service.

One downside could be the view - the one we had was just over the roof and the back of the building but this wasn't important to us as we were only there to sleep!

Overall - excellent service, lovely room and excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supergirlfootballer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andg2005, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments - glad that all was ok during your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#5 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#2 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ely House Hotel
Ely House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Property: Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Address: 126 Penn Road, Wolverhampton WV3 0ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy reach of M6/M54/M5 and NEC, the Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel offers some pleasant surprises. With original features throughout the bar area and a contemporary restaurant, the hotel provides an excellent setting from which to base your visit to the Midlands. There is also the opportunity to upgrade to one of six, four poster rooms, besides the other 76 well appointed en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goldthorn Hotel Leisure
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing