We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was so much better the 1st time we came” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Was so much better the 1st time we came”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a lovely hotel and the staff are great, Faith who I think is the manager is naturally friendly bends every which way he can to help however the last time we stayed (a few years ago) this was a Quality hotel and not a Mercure. This time although still lovely, the Quality (pardon the pun) seems to be lacking, the evening meal left us sat in the restaurant for nearly 2 hours most of it waiting to be served for a meal that wasn't really worth the wait and was almost cold, we ended up going to the KFC straight afterwards. The hotel itself was too hot, the bedrooms were suffocating the radiators were so hot (even with the widows fully open) and couldn't be altered no matter how much we tried which meant we hardly slept and had banging headaches the next morning, not a great start to the day. The breakfast was brilliant, as much as you want and a good variety, the cooked part was as hot and tasty as it looked and the waitress, here, there and everywhere with a smile was very attentive.
Like we said its a lovely hotel and we would use it again if the above negatives were rectified.., put the QUALITY back, just because it's no longer in your name doesn't mean you no longer have to use it in the detail.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Travellingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for leaving your feedback following your stay
Will pass comments to Faith - but sorry that you had a delay in the restaurant for dinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    203
    166
    74
    46
See reviews for
96
241
36
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights Friday & Saturday. Rooms not ready till 2pm so we decided to go for a drink in lounge bar which is nice, got talking to bar man called faith (turkish) who could not do enough for us, nice man who loved to talk. We had a lovely sandwich and coffee, check in was simple & quick and the room 52 was clean, tidy & big, we did pay extra for the superior room. One issue with the room was it was like a sauna, radiators off and windows wide open and still very warm, told reception who did put us a fan in and did help a bit. Staff are kind and happy to help. The health club was a big let down, the changing rooms are a disgrace, small, mucky and not looked after, rusty metal lockers without a lock on! The pool was okay but needs refurbishment as does steam room, sauna was not on or not working. If your looking for a hotel with a nice health club then this is not the one. For eating we went to penn tandoori curry house up the road which was fantastic, and Chinese wing wah which was about ten mins in taxi but really good. Breakfast in hotel was nice, sometimes you have to wait for your table. All in all we would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrights125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many thanks for leaving your comments following your stay
Apologies for problems encountered in the leisure centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for one night room only for a pre-booked family room for a visit the next day to Cadbury World. I researched quite a few hotels that were advertised on the Cadbury site as I especially wanted a hotel with a pool so the children could enjoy their stay. I had to telephone to get a price for a family room and was given a really good rate, and as the website looked nice ( I didn't see a star rating) we booked.
We stayed in the business cenre and the room was a good size with one double, twin beds and a single which was one more than what we needed. I thought the beds were comfortable an it was nice to have two pillows instead of the usual one which can be supplied at some hotels. The quilt was not big enough for the double bed so be prepared for draughty backs! However we were not cold during the night. The sheets also did not fit the double bed properly and coujldn't be tucked in so the next day they were all gathered on the bed.
The lighting was modern with nice adjustable reading lights. The bathroom was newly refurbished and clean and modern.
However there were a few things that could have been improved.
As we arrived the maintenence man was just leaving after turning on our room heating. Considering we arrived two hours after the check in time of 2pm the room was quite cold and took an age to warm up with only the bottom of the radiators getting hot. The shower has no power whatsoever but was hot. There was no heated towel rail for the towels to dry after being used, so expect them to still be damp the next day. As this was a family room there was no refreshments supplied for children (ie sachet of hot chocolate) only the usual tea and coffee which was fine for adults. Also it would be great if the tv was a tv/dvd combi which would be ideal in a family room.
Now for the health club! The entrance into the club was really shabby and dirty which is not a good first impression. The keypad to enter did not work so anyone could enter. There were no locks on the lockers so you left your possessions at risk unlocked which is even more unsafe given my previous comment, and as the entrance to the changing rooms is right by the main enterance.There were no towels so my husband had to go to reception and they were brought over, The changing room is a small communal dingy room with dismal lighting and one private cubicle to use. There was only one shower with a grubby curtain and no light inside so it was in complete darkness. The hairdryer although shown to be working by the power light on the socket did not. The place was just not nice were I wanted to spend as little time as possible. I would have just left but stayed as I had promised the children they could use the pool. The male changing room was just as bad according to my husband.
The pool also looked like it needed cleaning, the water was not crystal clear as you expect. Also I think it must have been a saltwater pool as was very salty and not chlorine-like was which was again somewere were I didn't want to spend too much time. Even if it was pristine clean the water could have been warmer.
We didn't see any other part of the hotel as we were only staying the one night. All in all it was a bit of a disappointment but the points I am making will hopefully be picked up by hotel management and rectified. Sorry but I will not be returning and have not left with any desire to use a Mercure hotel in the future,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NicolaJ649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Many thanks for your comments following your stay and my apologies for your disappointment
All feedback has been passed onto the department heads concerned and appropriate action taken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wolverhampton hotels

Chester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked this hotel via the internet on a bed & breakfast basis, no refund. We were attending a family funeral the next morning very early & didn't want a long journey. It worked very well. The family joined us at the hotel shortly after our arrival when we all met in the bar. Breakfast next morning was very good & pleasantly served, although too much parsley had been sprinkled over the food. Our room was large & well equipped, warm & the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had obviously been refurbished & the shower was efficient. We checked out after breakfast to attend the funeral. The hotel was more than adequate for an over night stay and would recommend it for that purpose.

Room Tip: Don't know, just took what came on the booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kopiteChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

have just arrived back from an all inclusive weekend at this Hotel. My husband and I went with another couple, on arrival reception staff was friendly and on noticing 1 room was in the main building and the other was in the business center she quickly changed one room to allow us to have 2 rooms in the business center ( a minute walk through the car park). Our rooms were spotlessly clean and our room had a 4 poster bed. We were all inclusive and found the food to be of a high standard. The dining room staff were extremely helpful and efficient, particularly Tom, Josh and a young French lady who wouldn't let us carry our coffees from the dining room to the lounge, she found us seats and brought our coffee to us. In all we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, and would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: room 83 in the business center had a 4 poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickaby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
following your recent stay - many thanks for your comments - glad you enjoyed yourself - have passed comments to staff concerned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Visited with friends for afternoon tea on voucher deal on Easter monday.

We have been to two other Mercure hotels for AT in the past few months and on each occasion it has been excellent.

What a letdown at the Goldthorn.

The welcome and service we received was very good but the quality of food was quite dreadful.

The sandwiches were bland and not at all appetising but worst of all we were served what appeared to be chocolate brownies.

These can only be described as appalling and would guess they were from the sweet menu the previous evening, being warmed up and served ROCK HARD !!!!!

Given our experiences of past Mercure AT this was very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseskidderminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel
So sorry that you were not as happy this time - all comments have been past to the departments concerned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had a good weekend here with friends, 6 couples.
3 couples were put in the hotel and 3 ( inc myself & wife) were in the business centre.
They claim they were doing us a favour, as it had been upgraded.
Every time we wanted to Eat, Meet, Drink, Swim etc we had to put coats on and walk the 3 mins from the rear of the back car park to the main hotel.
This was the only downside to a good weekend, Food & Staff were very good.

Quinny

Room Tip: Stay away from Business Centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quinny59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay
Sorry you were disappointed with the business centre - it is the most sought after area of the hotel during the week - so disappointed to read your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#5 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#2 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
#15 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Property: Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Address: 126 Penn Road, Wolverhampton WV3 0ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy reach of M6/M54/M5 and NEC, the Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel offers some pleasant surprises. With original features throughout the bar area and a contemporary restaurant, the hotel provides an excellent setting from which to base your visit to the Midlands. There is also the opportunity to upgrade to one of six, four poster rooms, besides the other 76 well appointed en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goldthorn Hotel Leisure
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing