We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Barons Court Hotel(Wolverhampton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Connaught Hotel(Wolverhampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ely House Hotel(Wolverhampton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Park View Hotel(Wolverhampton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wulfrun Hotel(Wolverhampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Wolverhampton(Wolverhampton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveler rating
203
230
192
97
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
230
192
97
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolwindow framessauna and steam roomleisure facilitiesnational holidaysrestaurant staffweekend breakcoach tripone night staycourse mealwedding receptionlovely roomcouldn't do enoughtea and coffeetown centrefaithlisa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
555 - 560 of 787 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Visited with friends for afternoon tea on voucher deal on Easter monday.

We have been to two other Mercure hotels for AT in the past few months and on each occasion it has been excellent.

What a letdown at the Goldthorn.

The welcome and service we received was very good but the quality of food was quite dreadful.

The sandwiches were bland and not at all appetising but worst of all we were served what appeared to be chocolate brownies.

These can only be described as appalling and would guess they were from the sweet menu the previous evening, being warmed up and served ROCK HARD !!!!!

Given our experiences of past Mercure AT this was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roseskidderminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel
So sorry that you were not as happy this time - all comments have been past to the departments concerned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had a good weekend here with friends, 6 couples.
3 couples were put in the hotel and 3 ( inc myself & wife) were in the business centre.
They claim they were doing us a favour, as it had been upgraded.
Every time we wanted to Eat, Meet, Drink, Swim etc we had to put coats on and walk the 3 mins from the rear of the back car park to the main hotel.
This was the only downside to a good weekend, Food & Staff were very good.

Quinny

Room Tip: Stay away from Business Centre
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quinny59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay
Sorry you were disappointed with the business centre - it is the most sought after area of the hotel during the week - so disappointed to read your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Thought I would get a day pass to see what the facilities are like before I get membership at the gym... When I rang to book I was told I needed to book 24 hours in advance which I did. When I arrived I was told the pool is quite full and I might want to come back? I asked if I am expected to give 24 hours notice to book my day pass as to why I was not notified? The member of staff did not have anything to say...When I went to use the gym facilities I was greatly put off. The shower room looked like it had never been cleaned. The was a lot of hair on the floor. The lockers did not actually work. The lady on reception did not seem to have a clue, the customer service was of a poor standard and the lack of hygiene was just off putting. I did not stay ten minutes. Would not recommend anybody to waste their money here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princess230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback and apologies for problems encountered
Have spoken to staff concerned - should have explained more in detail to you ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nice quality room, clean with a good television with lovely ensuite

Restaurant food was nice but very expensive (either use a Tastecard or go with the special of the day to make a sensible price)

Unfortunately the pool was closed when I stayed

I would stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyNottm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thanks for leaving your feedback following your recent visit
Sorry the pool was closed - we had the filters changed and it upset the chlorine and water levels so it was safer to close for a couple of days to get the levels back to normal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I will keep this relevant seeing as I have have read previous reviews which drag on about trivial issues which are not really relevant. I use this hotel as a regular place for business. The food, as always, is excellent with lots of choice both on main menu AND the bar menu. Breakfast is my favourite with so much choice. Scrambled egg to die for!! I used the leisure facilities and actually enjoyed a quiet solo swim. The hotel was quiet when I stayed which I class as a bonus as I did not have to wait for any length of time. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missmini17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel
Glad you had a good time with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews