We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Takeaway.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shere Punjab

Shere Punjab
Ranked #169 of 469 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: Telephone +44 1902 772 635; also listed on http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/339/1381454/restaurant/Birmingham/Wolverhampton/Shere-Punjab-West-Midlands
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Takeaway.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice takeaway, average pricing, quick service, nice food. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a good takeaway in Wolverhampton! The restaurant I have never been to and it does seem very quiet.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

OK, so the number one thing you look for in a restaurant is the food, right? And here it is simply wonderful.

We tend to use the takeway service, but have eaten in a couple of times too. Big hearty portions of food full of flavours and textures. Easy on the pocket, far too tempting to be easy on the waistline, service that's so-so but happy, and a location that means it's an overlooked treasure.

If you want delicate pretty portions of picturesque morsels then you'd do well to look elsewhere, this is wonderful Punjabi food, ranging from the delicately spiced and intricately flavoured to the full-on heat-infused joy-giving smile-raising bellyful!

We recently visited another Indian restaurant for the first time (It was Rickshaw on Chapel Ash, nice food - review later) and upon hearing it was our first visit there but we'd lived in the city for 5 years, the waiter asked where we usually went. When we told him it was Shere Punjab he replied "Oh, that's proper hardcore Punjabi food!" Yes! Result! and that's why we love Shere, consistently top-notch, hearty portions, easy on the pocket. What more could you want?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Proper Punjabi Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

When it comes to Indian food, you know you're onto a winner when you actually see Indians in there... eating...!!!
Situated in Whitmore Reans in Wolverhampton (Leicester Square... I kid you not), it has become a bit of a national treasure amongst the locals and all who have been able to find it; although they have had a very nice sign put outside now.
You have to go into the Indian sweet centre adjoining it, which has a small archway inside that takes you to the restaurant.
Make no mistake this is not the Ritz; if you're after glam... go elsewhere. If you're after a taste of real authentic punjabi nosh, make yourself at home.
The service is laid back, relaxed and informal... what the arrogant would call lazy, but those in the know how would call chilled.
But you're here for food, and believe me it's the best Indian food this side of the Indian ocean. Although be prepared to wait as the food is made fresh from scratch.
I could go on and on about all the quality food, tastes and tantalising aromas; but I'm not. Get yourself down here and finish off my review for me...

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gill6880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cheap & Cheerful Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Shere Punjab is one of those places that has always been there and (I hope) always will. The restaurant part of the business has always seemed incidental to the retail side that sells excellent Indian sweets and savouries and it wouldn't be your first choice for a romantic dinner. What it's great for is parties and special occasions with a larger group of people.

About a dozen of us turned up and we had booked a buffet as if you turn up and order when you arrive you can be in for a long wait. The atmosphere was very relaxed and informal as usual and the poppadums and starters arrived in a steady stream, all very tasty. The main dishes that followed were nice but rather plain compared to the first course, accompanied by a good selection of naans and rice.

To top it off I was surprised that the Cobra larger was very drinkable but if you're not keen on that the options are limited. The service was friendly, informal and efficient. All in all a great night out - especially if your group brings its own atmosphere!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IanMcBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Should be number one !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Amazing food and excellent value for money. We wouldn't go anywhere else now we've found this place.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mo5467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shere Punjab also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Shere Punjab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing