We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Cheerful Indian Restaurant”
Review of Shere Punjab

Shere Punjab
Ranked #274 of 507 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Telephone +44 1902 772 635; also listed on http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/339/1381454/restaurant/Birmingham/Wolverhampton/Shere-Punjab-West-Midlands
West Midlands, UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cheap & Cheerful Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Shere Punjab is one of those places that has always been there and (I hope) always will. The restaurant part of the business has always seemed incidental to the retail side that sells excellent Indian sweets and savouries and it wouldn't be your first choice for a romantic dinner. What it's great for is parties and special occasions with a larger group of people.

About a dozen of us turned up and we had booked a buffet as if you turn up and order when you arrive you can be in for a long wait. The atmosphere was very relaxed and informal as usual and the poppadums and starters arrived in a steady stream, all very tasty. The main dishes that followed were nice but rather plain compared to the first course, accompanied by a good selection of naans and rice.

To top it off I was surprised that the Cobra larger was very drinkable but if you're not keen on that the options are limited. The service was friendly, informal and efficient. All in all a great night out - especially if your group brings its own atmosphere!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanMcBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Should be number one !”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Amazing food and excellent value for money. We wouldn't go anywhere else now we've found this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mo5467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shere Punjab is a very excellent restaurant.”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Been going to this restaurant since it first opened and in all those years the quality of the food has never faltered; it has the same sublime taste as its predecessing years. I'm a regular here due to its reasonable prices and delicious food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anil Nath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gnosall
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best samosa's this side of the Indian Ocean”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Have been using the Shere Punjab for my samosa's and shish kebabs for the last 20years,Now live the other side of Stafford and still travel down when we need indian starters,48 mile round trip and worth every inch,NEVER had a bad samosa or kebab!!
My Sister lives in Portsmouth and brings a shopping list up now for her and her friends!!
KEEP IT UP BOYS 10/10

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glengy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ace food, good service”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Dropped by early on a midweek evening, entered via the adjacent (busy!) sweet centre. I was the only diner, so the service was pretty good.

My king prawn dish and veg accompaniments were very tasty - and not swimming in Ghee! Prices were reasonable, and the draft Cobra slipped own a treat, too.

I'd return if in the area again

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank e3sa934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shere Punjab also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Shere Punjab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing