We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth a visit”

Wolverhampton Art Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With its family friendly displays and interactives, Wolverhampton Art Gallery can be enjoyed by visitors of all ages.See permanent displays dedicated to key periods in history alongside regularly changing exhibitions that embrace painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, multi-media, and more. From grand paintings by 18th century greats, to thought provoking contemporary pieces, there’s always something new to discover.Relax in the laid-back setting of the Art Gallery Cafe, with its delicious menu, ranges of speciality loose-leaf teas and fresh coffee, and discover a treasure trove of crafts, cards and jewellery in the gallery shop.
uk
Level Contributor
410 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

If you're in Wolves town centre, you will probably pass this place, and it's worth a look. The building is impressive, with a modern extension and shop. I don't think the collection can compare with what you'd find in a bigger city, but it's good for a place of this size.

There's a temporary sculpture exhibition on at the moment which encourages you to touch and feel the exhibits. That was interesting and fun. I also really liked the picture saved to this review, which was a paper collage made entirely out of cuttings from Sunday magazine supplements!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    72
    13
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A fascinating place to spend a few hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had never visited before but went to the Art Gallery to see the Ron Mueck exhibition which we found to be very thought provoking. However the best surprise was to discover what an interesting and accessible gallery it is with a wide variety of works of art and activities to suit the whole family.The staff are both friendly and professional especially Bob who went out of his way to make our visit so interesting and enjoyable. A very good gift shop and cafe are also on site. Everywhere was accessible for wheelchair users

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MAUREEN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolvesAG, Front Office Manager at Wolverhampton Art Gallery, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. The Ron Mueck exhibition has been popular and as you say, thought provoking. Our staff are passionate about the Gallery and it was nice to hear that Bob was of service to you. I will pass on your kind comments. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
340 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited W'ton Art Gallery yesterday (always worth a visit, if you're in the city) to take in the Ron Mueck exhibition on it's last day.. after lot's of recommendations.
AMAZING.. sums up the incredible work this guy does, his attention to detail is phenomenal and every piece seems almost alive.. spooky to say the least. When you read he has worked in special effects on films, it kind of makes sense.
The lady (wendy) staff member we quizzed, was very helpful and informative.
Please enjoy the pictures, but seeing them "in the flesh" so to speak, is the only way to do them justice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CSLWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolvesAG, Front Office Manager at Wolverhampton Art Gallery, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Ron Mueck exhibition. It has been very popular and exciting for us to have it here in Wolverhampton. Our front of house staff are committed to enhancing your visitor experience and it was nice to hear your kind comments regarding Wendy, I will pass them on to her. Once again, thank you for giving us a review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

An excellent visit with staff going out of their way to ensure that we saw the painting (which wasn't on display) that we'd come in to view. Enjoyed both exhibitions especially work of Ron Mueck.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WolvesAG, Front Office Manager at Wolverhampton Art Gallery, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was nice to meet you both and a pleasure to show you the Art that you had specifically come to see. We hope you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic coup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

What a great coup top get some of the excellent Ron Mueck's work to Wolverhampton. I shall be going for the third time tomorrow - all the way from Birmingham! The spaces are good and the lighting right for these enchanting pieces and the workshoppy area. The Gallery is quite a gem and could do more to promote itself. It should do more. The food in café was great but I couldn't find mention of the café when I went on the website just now to plan my visit. Likewise the shop is underfurnished and there was no Mueck apart from the excellent DVD which I bought and which is played on a loop as part of the show and well worth staying with. They could have sold loads of Mueck books I am sure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roypee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolverhampton Art Gallery also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Wolverhampton Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing