We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the NT best places to visit”

Wightwick Manor and Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of the NT best places to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are National Trust members, the opening time was 11.00 o’clock, we arrived at 10.55 and the gates were locked. We thought it was closed, but we waited on the main road (not the best place to sit in one’s car), finally at 11.05 the gates were opened.
The visit to the house was excellent, plenty of staff around to give us information and there was information sheets in each room, our visited lasted about 2 hours.
They have an excellent café on site were we had hot drinks & cakes.
We didn’t spend too much time in the gardens as it was a cold day; however, we are going back in the summer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 1_John_1-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    256
    26
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great national trust”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

lovely gardens, and house, but as it is local we go there quite often. always got lots for kids. our 5 year ol loved the orienteering, and the easter trail. only thing negative to say was there was no egg and spoon races the day we went over easter, and it was advertised on the nt website.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“just beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

One of the best National Trust Houses ever visited.
Views over the gardens wonderful staff in the house very knowledgeable. Will definitely be visiting again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Well kept grounds and interesting house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went on Good Friday with some snow still on the ground. Grounds and vegetable garden exceptionally well kept. Found the tips on pruning roses and other plants useful. The Manor House was very interesting - the home of the Manders. Well kept with plenty to see. Good but small restaurant. The manor house is not less-able friendly but the grounds are. The carrot and corriander soup was a bit tasteless but there is a good choice of sandwiches and home made cakes. There were plenty of kids enjoying the Easter egg hunt around the grounds too!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RDAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Lancs, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

due to the snowy conditions we were not able to venture into the gardens, but did thorougly enjoy the Manor. Plenty to look at with people on hand to explain anything you wish to know about. The National Trust does not disappoint

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ex-ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wightwick Manor and Gardens also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Wightwick Manor and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing