We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy farmhouse accommodation close to motorways” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Featherstone Farm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Featherstone Farm Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
ESSEX
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Cosy farmhouse accommodation close to motorways”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Just back from a one night stay whilst visiting family in the area. The farmhouse is lovely, cosy and homely. The hosts are very friendly and the breakfast superb, served a gorgeous old room with beams and log fire burning. Great location between two motorways so very easy to get around, yet in a quiet village. Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LINALLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    12
    11
    6
See reviews for
11
25
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

It may sound strange but sandwiched between the M6 and M54 this is surprisingly quiet location with splendid views of the countryside, offering excellent value for money, with an olde worlde feel about it. For evening meals there is an adjoining excellent curry house which seems to be patronised by the great and good of Wolverhampton, but if curry is not your thing it is not easy finding anywhere else local half decent to eat.
Run by friendly couple who cook an excellent breakfast .
Do make sure follow directions as it is easy to miss!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estragon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed for one night 8th October,made to feel very welcome on arrival.Lovely quirky,quaint hotel with lots of creaks! I had requested a vegetarian breakfast and a booking for the Indian restaurant, both requests had been done for which I was very grateful. Luxury room had 4 poster bed which was very comfotrable, very clean room.Lovely dining room with huge roaring log fire.Just a few minor gripes-
1. Out dated TV which was complicated to operate- flat screens would be good especially in luxury room
2. Very sparse supply of toiletries, just one tiny tube of shower gel which we had to eke out between the two of us! One tiny tablet of soap.
3. No spare toilet roll! Again we had to eke the small amount of paper left on the roll!
4. Had to ask for juice at breakfast as none left in jug and my husband was disappointed there was no sauce available to have with his breakfast.
These are only minor gripes and I am sure they would have been rectified if we had asked but they are doing such a good joband have onle been there a few weeks it seemed a bit unfair. Breakfast was lovely,piping hot and spotlessly clean table linen.
The Kings Repose Indian restaurant next door is amazing!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanleyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

I understood, pre-booking, that the hotel was under new management. Well, it seems that the new owners have hit the ground running.
The welcome was warm and friendly. On entering our room my partner was left speechless (which I thought was impossible) by the sight of a 4-poster bed. She couldn't believe that such a lovely room had cost so little. We had plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. The bathroom was small and clean.
We ate our evening meal at the Indian restaurant next door, which was very nice. Our hotel breakfast the next morning was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble. The dining room was both a functional breakfast room and a living room with real log fire.
One minor gripe was that the TV in our room kept reverting to blue screen. Not sure if it was the TV or the fact that it was digital switchover weekend. And it was no big deal since we were far too busy to waste time watching TV.
And, to add my partners comments (She found her voice again. Oh well, It was nice while it lasted) . . . I felt like a princess . . . Could not believe we had a 4-poster bed . . . Such good value . . . Lovely and quiet . . . Loved the big fire.

Definitely a hotel we'd visit again
Neil & Belinda

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilK306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Ignore any bad reviews. Good news - Gina & Rufus have turned Featherstone Farm around. We have been staying here since 2002 but this weekend was one of the best. It very clean and though its just a base for V Festival weekend Rufus provided the best breakfast to get us through the day!

And the curry house next door The Kings Repose is great too.

We will be there again next year (so long as we get tickets)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Arrived to find a picturesque old farmhouse that was to be our 'home' for the night. Our room was a cute little double with what I considered to be unique and therefore attractive features, the bathroom door you have to duck into as it's only about 41/2 feet tall. I loved the originality. The B and B is family run by a young couple, Rufus and Gina. Both were extremely welcoming and pleasant and made us feel right at home. Breakfast was freshly cooked and spot on, just what we needed. Rooms were a little creaky with people moving about above us but what can you expect from a 17th century farmhouse? Overall a great stay. Don't come to this hotel if you are expecting roadside hotel sterilisation and politeness. Warm welcomes and unique features all around do it for me.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon504069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

I am walking from Lands End to John O'Groats. To say I am extremely happy with my stay at the Featherstone Farm Hotel is an understatement. I'd had a long day and when I arrived Rufus was extremely cordial and made me feel very comfortable. He even noticed I was tired and may not want to go out for food so very kindly offered to make me something.

I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay for anyone who wants somewhere quiet yet close to road, rail, or a big city (Wolverhampton).

Would I come again? Definitely!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daimon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolverhampton
4.7 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wolverhampton North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#5 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cannock South Hotel
6.2 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Featherstone Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Featherstone Farm Hotel

Property: Featherstone Farm Hotel
Address: Featherstone Farm New Road, Wolverhampton WV10 7NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Featherstone Farm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Featherstone Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Featherstone Farm Hotel Wolverhampton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing