We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fine!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights - was an easy choice as the only other hotel available at the price was the Travelodge, a chain which makes me depressed before I've even arrived. Anyway Britannia hotels make no pretence of luxury - they buy up old properties, if they redecorate them at all it's to the most basic level, and then they run a low cost operation targeting coach tours and low spending buyers. Which I'm happy to accept - it was 26 pounds a night! This particular Britannia is what you might call 'cosy'. Rough around the edges, definitely in need of some tlc, but warm and comfortable. Room could have been cleaner and the receptionists on arrival could have been nicer though - even a low spending buyer is entitled to a clean carpet and a receptionist whose face doesn't look as if it will crack if she smiles! Apart from that I enjoyed it and would stay again above a Travelodge any day. The Victorian building has character, the food and restaurant service on the night I ate in was surprisingly good for a buffet, and the location is excellent. Definitely not what I had expected after reading some of the hysterical reviews!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    111
    124
    154
    345
See reviews for
97
212
83
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend, little did we know that there would be street works going on outside our window until past 2am. Bed had pubic hairs under the quilt. Shower was dripping all night.

Very poor, never again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crs281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wolverhampton hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
386 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have been to several small business meetings at this hotel which is really missing out on its location ie within walking distance of the station. We always have very plain sandwiches and today they forgot the drinks. Drab, in need of decor, and a windowless meeting room. Wifi is free but did not reach our room. This is basic meeting place and I am looking for an alternative venue near the station as I found it a bit depressing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked a twin room for an evening out with friends. The first room had to be changed there was faeces in the toilet from the previous guest and the shower did not work was either scalding hot or freezing cold. The corridors smell of stale cigarettes ad are dated and scruffy. On moving to the second room there was rubbish under the bed and the furniture was dirty and scruffy. The radiator was off and the window left wide open so the room was freezing however we realised that we could probably spend all night moving if we were to find a room that was of some reasonable standard! The only positive is that the bed sheets were clean and the beds comfy.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Like others I was not expecting much from this hotel after reading the reviews. In reality it is a smashing Victorian building full of charm. Yes it is very shabby (the wallpaper in our room was full of holes) and our room was small but this made it cosy. Far more character than any Travelodge. Staff and location were perfect. No problems whatsoever about cleanliness unlike other reviewers.

The main drawback is that the building has very thin walls which creates noise. We were kept awake by a party of woman chatting two doors down for an hour and at 5am the person in the room above had an early start and we heard every step he made through the ceiling. Consequently we did not sleep very well and for this it looses two stars.

The hotel allows smoking in its rooms. I have not seen this in any other hotel for well over a decade. I personally don't smoke but the constant threats of fines by other hotels if you do something perfectly legal in their rooms always makes me angry (smoking is perfectly legal in a hotel room in the UK). The slight smoky smell gives this place a retro air, like going back in time to an old film.

Cheap as chips too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinkay462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I booked a single room here as a place to stay after a gig at the Civic. At £30 for the night, I didn't have particularly high expectations - especially considering some of the reviews on here.

The hotel is located 5-10 minutes away (on foot) from the Civic, and 2 minutes from the train station. This made it very convenient in terms of location.

I was pleased that my request for a room away from the road had been heeded. After making my way through the labyrinth of corridors to said room, I did expect worse based on some of the reviews from other visitors. The hotel is - politely speaking - 'dated', although this in itself didn't bother me too much. The room itself wasn't too bad - the bedding was clean (as you'd hope), although the bed itself was clearly old, I didn't struggle to sleep in it. The en-suite facilities were actually quite good - definitely clean and surprisingly spacious.

One negative aspect was the inexcusably dirty light fittings which I only noticed upon leaving the next day - it does seem as if corners are generally cut here in terms of cleanliness. There were a few other minor things which made the room unsightly, such as torn fabric on the chair, and other scuffs here and there. There was an inherent mustiness about the place, but the overall ambiance of the room wasn't actually that bad and I didn't feel uncomfortable in it.

Check in (and out) was straightforward and the desk staff were polite and friendly, which was a good, but in line with what you'd expect at any hotel.

If you need a roof over your head for a night in Wolverhampton city centre, I would recommend the hotel, but that's ONLY on the basis that it is cheap enough for one to at least partially accept some of it's flaws.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Do not stay here unless you want to stay in a room where the bathroom has holes punched into the wall and the rooms look like they've never seen a clean.

Hotel staff couldn't care less about complaints and almost seem put out when you comment about a non smoking room you've requested yet it's quite apparent someone has smoked in the room...I thought it was against the law to smoke in doors...apparently not at the Britannia.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#5 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wolverhampton City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
#15 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ely House Hotel
Ely House Hotel
#6 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton

Property: Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton
Address: Lichfield St, Wolverhampton WV1 4DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Wolverhampton Hotel is a stylish Victorian building situated in the city centre. It is conveniently based just five minutes walk from St Georges Metro Station and is perfect for those visiting Wolverhampton University or the Mander Shopping centre. For fans of the theatre, the hotel is next to the Wolverhampton's Grand Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolverhampton Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing