We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad exprience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Really bad exprience”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had stayed at this hotel prviously and found it to be a perfectly acceptable cheap standard hotel. On this occasion, we decided to take advantage of the wine and dine offer for a Saturday night and decided to book the executive room. When we came to check in on Saturday afternoon, we were shown to a room on the top floor, in the roof space, that could in no way be described as an executive room. It was extremely small, with shabby decoration, damp patches on the wall and ceiling and a small sized double bed with a mattress that was hard and lumpy. Back down to reception where we asked if we had been allocated an executive room; we were told that the hotel only had standard and superior rooms and that we had a superior room. Asked if there were any other rooms available; we were shown three other rooms; two were single rooms (presumably one room each had we decided to move) and one double that reeked of cigarette smoke. Decided to make the best of it and stayed in the original room. Dinner was a shambles as the two waiting staff were kept busy attending to a party of 50 celebrating a birthday. Very little food left and even when we asked for roast potatoes we waited so long that we gave up. Went to bed and from 10.00pm till 02.00am were kept awake by the extremely loud music from the pub opposite. Rang reception to see if the local council had a noise complaint line only to be told that no such thing was available (they do have a noise complaint line). Breakfast next day was only average. Complained to Britannia on the Monday who said that the hotel does have executive rooms but that they had been overbooked and we were begrudgingly offered a refund of £15. If you intend to stay at this hotel, make certain that there are no weddings or large parties staying a the same time and this way you may get the room that you booked and a reasonable chance of getting the meal that you booked. Oh, and ask for a room at theback of the hotel, it should be quieter.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at front of hotel that face the maid road nd the pub opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    112
    125
    156
    353
See reviews for
98
215
85
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, the first night on a package of dinner, bed and breakfast. The second night was accomodation only, thank god so we managed to get a breakfast across the road at The Moon Under Water (Wetherspoons).
The evening meal was served in the restuarant up until 9.00pm and we had got there just after 8.00pm. The restaurant is more like a cafe, the tables/chairs and furnishings not up to what one expects of a restaurant.
We expected to be served a three course meal at the table but it was self service. The pate starter and prawn cocktails looked like they had been in the display for hours with the pate going crusty. I had a steak pie with assorted veg, which again was not very nice and had been in the trays for hours. My wife wanted the vegetarian option and this had to be cooked for her as there was none left. This too was very poor.
The only upside on this stay was that included in the fee was a bottle of wine (which we took to the room, as by 9.00pm they were locking up the restaurant and we had to leave).
The bedroom was small and dated and definitely in need of decoration. There was a mass of dust down the side of the bed.
After having a shower (in the very cramped bathroom) the mirror became condensed as one expects but then we could then see a love heart and initials in the glass that a previous guest had wrote on with their finger, so the rooms are not getting cleaned properly.
There was also a lot of noise dring the night with people running around and doors slamming, but I suppose there is not much they can do to stop that, maybe the sort of guests they are attracting.
The breakfast the next morning was again self service, which was okay but not as good as the Wetherspoons. We had to ask for coffee to be made as the one in the flasks was cold (yes drinks kept in flasks). Fruit juice had run out too and was not topped up probably as by now it was getting near the 10.00am finshing time, but that should not matter.
Location is good, near to the train station and bus station but there is no hotel car parking, so we had to park on a nearby car park.
Having stayed in other 'Britannia Hotels' we have been pretty impressed, so whether this is just a one off I dont know, but it is definitely not recommended. It needs a major refurbishmnet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Didimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wolverhampton hotels

North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

wernt supposed to be here went on national holiday trip to Warwick/Cotswold thought would be in Coventry but oh no the caoch company had overbooked and when our driver phoned the Coventry hill hotel was told we were not booked in there and it wasnt till the driver rang National holidays were told the bad news and had a 2 hour drive to this rubbish excuse as a hotel. Where to start the room was smelly,wallpaper hanging off ,crap t.v mould,damp stained carpets,marked wallpaper,rooms stank of smoke,no heating .noisey next to busy main road absolutley disgraceful should carry a goverment health warning,no security people walk in corridoors all night. The area is not for safe to walk out the first time we went out we got aprehended by a guy asking for ten pence for chips then followed us to the co-op then hotel very unearving would not go out again into the city .The staff treet coach parties as second class people and were very unhelpfull kept taking away cuttelry before we had even finished meal talking of which were rubbish better off eating elswhere or order takeaways .By the way you only get 1 towel {bath} for 2 people and when we asked for another a surley staff came and said very surley are you sure there isnt any in the wardrobe i replied no have a look if you dont believe me what an attitude This is the worst expirience i have ever had avoid like the plague it is really that bad take note of the reviews and make sure if you book with national holidays you dont go on a select hotel deal look for a named hotel or be warned you could end up here like us avoid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welfordj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Booked this as a cheap overnight stay as we had a early train 1st room we was given as soon as the door was opened it smelled of a dirty ashtray an open black sack had been left on chair full of rubbish lifted the bag to find crusts of stale bread. After complaining wa given 2nd room on 3rd floor the whole landing was covered in sheets that the cleaners had put out of rooms in small bundles. The room was well awful the bathroom door did not shut carpet was full of stains I wouldn't take of my shoes off, cups were filthy and overall mucky. We were told there was an a la cart menu when we asked was told fish,lasagne, pork chop all served with chips when I asked what was vegetarian option was told I could have salad with chips. We went and called premier inn that's just over the way much better stay will never stay in a Britania hotel again!!! Don't do it

Room Tip: Call another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have stayed here a few, separate times on business.

The hotel itself is in a very good location to get... well anywhere really. The staff are very friendly and very accommodating.

The rooms however; the first one I was given absolutely stunk of cigarette smoke, the carpet felt damp and one of the lights was out and the rest were very dingy. I went to reception straight away and explained the issue, to which they were most helpful and apologetic and immediately moved me up to the bridal suite which was very nice, very clean, very spacious and very comfortable.

The second time I stayed, the room I stayed in was adequate, the wallpaper appeared to be peeling somewhat and the carpet was fairly worn and tatty and just generally outdated, though it was clean and sufficient enough.

The last time I stayed was the same situation, I asked to be moved this time and was again, moved to a honeymoon suite by way of apology which was very similar to the bridal suite. The hotel is in definite need of a good spruce up. The standard rooms are just that, very standard, very basic and some a lot worse! I think the staff are also aware of this but they do make up for it somewhat.

Breakfast was lovely, consecutively, every time I have visited, lots on offer and all very fresh and again, the staff were very friendly.

Overall I would stay here again, perhaps wouldn't particularly recommend this to anyone without warning. I think if it just had a large "spruce-up" and update of decor it could be amazing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannegray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a three night stay as me and my wife were going to the v festival and easy shuttle bus commute from wolves. Good points location near train station and shuttle bus stop for v . Also main town round the corner and bar next door had lager and bitter happy hour 11am til 4pm £1.50 per pint . Hotel Is outdated and needs renovation floors squeaky shower curtain mouldy room small . Needs a good paint job and make it a bit more appealing. Wasn't impressed with fire alarms going off at 2am although unsure if it was faulty or guests acting up. All in all would go v festival again but unlikely to stay there again £65 a night it was room only but all in all better than a tent at v

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank StockportRacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Booked a trip with National Holidays and they took my family to stay at this awful hotel.
Well to say i was appalled at the conditions they expect you to sleep in is an understatement, We were expected to stay in room 301. This room was full of mould, damp crawling the walls and ceiling, stains all over the walls and carpets, cracked bathroom window, not to mention the filth of a bathroom. Dirty bed linen not to mention what the actual pillows and duvet were covered in??? dead flies, moths all over unhoovered floor smell beyond vile and they expected me to stay there with my daughter and niece of nine. I went down to reception to complain, asked to be moved and they said this was impossible? the housekeeper was asked to go to room and change bedding, in turn we left the hotel and went to find somewhere else to stay. On finding suitable accomodation I went back to the Britannia hotel to check out. The next morning on meeting back outside of the hotel (we did not want to go back inside) we were met with a madman driver driving back and forth staring at us alongside two men exchanging a package and money I shall let you make the judgement of what was going on! How can a well known company put families in an area like this and expect you to feel safe..! I have already wrote a complaint direct to them and only hope they do the decent thing and reimburse me. Never ever stay here, I shall certainly not be visiting Wolverhampton any time soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#5 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Wolverhampton City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
#15 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#2 of 20 in Wolverhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton

Property: Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton
Address: Lichfield St, Wolverhampton WV1 4DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Wolverhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Wolverhampton Hotel is a stylish Victorian building situated in the city centre. It is conveniently based just five minutes walk from St Georges Metro Station and is perfect for those visiting Wolverhampton University or the Mander Shopping centre. For fans of the theatre, the hotel is next to the Wolverhampton's Grand Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolverhampton Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Wolverhampton England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing