We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malabar

Malabar
Ranked #54 of 469 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Phone: +441902343315 Fine Indian Cuisine
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We often go to the Malabar when we want to have a treat, and take friends somewhere that we know we can depend on getting wonderful food and great service. We have never been disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    71
    24
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wolves
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“what a shame malabar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Having been there many times over the last 2 years we have found on 2 or 3 occasions some months back - perhaps the begining of the year - the quality has slipped and we had almost decided not to go there again. We went about a 4 weeks ago to find we really enjoyed our meal, it was truely delicious, not sure i recognised anyone though but that wasnt that big a prob just the atmosphere seemed different. Then we visited again a few weeks ago and although we ate everything as had saved ourselves all day (my nan was ravenous bless her) we all agreed it wasnt up to earlier visits. We had dodgy poppadoms on one occasion and when asked why they looked and tasted different we were told they were now doing them in the oven! Crazy! but anyway, not the sort to make a fuss we just had our meals and left. We dont normally take too long to dine as we have things we have to be getting on with, my Nan lives way out from Penn but has always come over to us as it was her favourite place for a curry, even she has said doubts she will be bothered again. My partner and i couldnt believe our luck at having the best indian restaurant right on our doorstep but now we are on the hunt once again. The usual guys there are the friendliest of people and the food was always the best for miles, dont know why things have to change...if its not broke dont fix it! We would never want to discuss this with staff as once served the dish, dont really see what difference it would make plus we really like them and feel awkward so my boyfriend would rather we didnt complain), i am writing this review in the hope the Malabar guys may see and get things back on track. We dont want to go elsewhere so may give it one last go to make our final decision. The last dish i ordered was a garlic chilli chicken, it was more like a very plain balti ( their balti used to be superb) with garlic and red chilli sprinkled on top, i was telling my friend about this recently and she said exactly the same from dining the week before, previous to that i had a lamb dish that was perfect and before that the same dish way too spicy. Same goes for the red chutney with poppadoms, the tase and heat varies so much on every visit i wonder how many people actually make it. Anyway, i really hope this place doesnt go that downhill they end up closing or losing all their customers, it would be a real bad shame for Penn.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wolves123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“An Enjoyable Evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Visited with my girlfriend and her family on a Saturday evening. On arrival service was a little slow waiting a while for menus, drink order etc.
on ordering food was of good quality and reasonably priced. All in all not bad!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Handsomedevil27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food my partner had chicken chatt to start he normally judges a restaurant on their chatt and said it was amazing. I had a king prawn dish for mains and although there was only 3 prawns they were huge and very well cooked. Beers and wines were very well priced. Service was very good. Will return :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The Best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Have been to many Indian restaurants, in the past, from Wolverhampton to Kettering! But none can match the Malabar, Wolverhampton. Come here every month, food always superb as is the service and staff, always get 5 star treatment. A variety of dishes served, unlike other Indian restaurants, each one unique.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CHAS J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malabar also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Malabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing