We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curry in a Hurry!”
Review of Penn Tandoori

Penn Tandoori
Ranked #2 of 507 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Curry in a Hurry!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late on a wet and windy Monday evening en route to see Beady Eye at the Civic Hall. Having planned on a relaxed meal we had to settle on a main course only. The staff responded to our need to be fed and watered quickly but still served up one of the best curries I have had in ages. Will definitely be back again!

Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    124
    57
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Never fails to impress”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited here on many occasions and still it supersedes any other restaurant in Wolverhampton.

Brilliant food, pleasant customer service, modern decor, fantastic prices!

Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Alexmay89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant near Wolverhampton”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of our b&b host on the evening of 5th November. We were impressed that a good number of people were eating there on a Tuesday night in November. The food was excellent, as were the service and the friendliness of the staff. Certainly one of the best Indian restaurants we have visited.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful restaurant.good menu and excellent service.food very good served hot and when required.staff very helpful and friendly.a must to visit again

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Birthday treat - from my big sister”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Yet another superb meal at the Penn Tandoori I can't believe it is over 13 years since this restaurant opened and we have eaten here nearly every week since the official opening all those years ago.
Tonight's meal was courtesy of my big sister who lives in Leeds and sadly couldn't join us this evening. So she lovingly thought she would treat me for my birthday and had arranged everything with the manager.
Staff are always attentive, anticipate customers needs and serve delicious tandoori and curries. It's hard for me to say how this restaurant compares to others in the city simply because I can't bring myself to visit any other Indian restaurant in town.
So taste the best and forget the rest .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fossieWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penn Tandoori also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Penn Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing