We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always very tasty”

Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery
Ranked #322 of 473 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Price range: $6 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Set in Tettenhall, we serve a delicious carvery 7 days a week with seasonal vegetables and salad. Additional to that, try our fresh Stonebaked Pizza and a great selection of burgers. Or just pop in for a drink and try some of our local ales, excellent selection of lagers, wines and great cocktails.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always very tasty”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I love gourmet food but you cannot beat the quality & value of the carvery food offered here. I often take my mom & aunt out for lunch - but this is always our favourite carvery. Not a particularly good part of town but it will not stop us visiting. We have been going for years.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 513Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    69
    47
    33
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hot food fpr a change!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I find alot of caveries are hit and miss but I have to say I have visited the newbridge quite alot and have found the food nice and hot and a good choice of potatos and veg, although it can get really busy it;s all in the timing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We regularly have a carvery meal here and it is never less than very good. The staff are very pleasant and they are constantly topping up/replacing the vegetables as required. Bottles of wine are very reasonably priced.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Its ok”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Food is ok, not sure about this pay more get a king size, or pay the standard rate and get a smaller amount than you used to get.
Recently went to a Toby carvery where you paid a set price and had the choice of king size or smaller, granted it cost slightly more but the food was better.
Still like the pub though, it has a certain character and the beer is good, even though it is not Bank's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daveh212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Needs refurbishment”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I recently went for a lunchtime carvery on a weekday. Firstly, I felt there needed to be more bar staff as it seemed to take too long to be served and quite a queue developed as I was waiting. It was easy enough to find an empty table at which to sit at that time (1pm) then my friend and I joined the carvery queue. I noticed that there were still three choices of meat: beef and turkey as before but now joined by pork instead of gammon. I thought this was a change for the better. The range of vegetables on offer was reduced as compared to previous visits and the potato option was now roast and mashed. I could certainly tell that the mashed potato was 'real' as opposed to being re-constituted from a packet as there were several large chunks of unmashed matter in the serving bowl.
One practical inconvenience was that the gravy container is now situated right next to the vegetables unlike before when it was placed on a separate table. In its current position, it adds to the congestion of people at the counter.
The food tasted fine, nothing to get excited about but nothing to complain of either. My main point about the Newbridge is that it is long overdue for a major refurbishment or, at least for a start, a really deep clean. The furniture, carpets and walls all have a tired and worn out appearance. Yes, I will go there again but not any time soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank furgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing