We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice dinner and what you would expect.”

The Swallows Return
Ranked #72 of 347 Restaurants in Worthing
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Swallows Return offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A nice dinner and what you would expect.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Been to the swallows return a few times.

the setting i lovely however access on foot is a pain. either walk along the main road and risk being hit by a lorry or cross the a259 and get muddy entering the sometimes un-open front door.

food is good. slightly expensive but hits the spot nicely. i feel they are under staffed and look quite rushed! but i feel they are doing the best they can.

recently eaten at another pub owned by the same company and they hit that place on the head its fantastic i just hope vintage inns can get the swallows return up to scratch and iron out a few creases.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 242Olie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    235
    190
    164
    123
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“did not think it could not get worse”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Turned up tonight, football on not many about, waited to be seated,could see not even half full,
told will see if table available, sorry I am not blind!! Food arrived not exactly good in presentation.When we complained food taken off bill, damage done. Will not be going back.
The owners of this chain need to get their act together if they want to stay in business

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Run out of food!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Having booked a table for 6 people at 6pm on Sunday evening, we had to wait to be seated,in fact the two couples in front off us left as we had to wait for a member of staff to acknowledge us arriving...not a good start. We were aware that some of the roast would've have run out by the evening but all of them!! We gave our choice of meals to the waitress only to be told aft 15 minutes later that they had no roasted vegetables that go with the pork loin so had to reorder. When the food did arrive it did look a bit sad (no garnish of any kind with the burgers and chips). I ordered a glass of wine only to be told that they didn't have any in stock so settled for second best which was terrible. Was looking forward to the puddings.......again they had run out of the choice I made. All in all quite a expensive trip out to the Sallows Return with sub standard food and on which I will never want to repeat!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Encore - The Return”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We returned to the Swallow's Return - the first time for quite a while. It was Sunday lunchtime and it was heaving. We had booked, so we were greeted and shown to our table immediately.
Service wasn't snappy, but it was polite and perfectly acceptable, given how busy they were.
We started with a sharing platter - which was very tasty; our friends had the fish platter and wolfed that down, obviously enjoying the selection.
From there we diverged with chicken, with pies, and with venison. I couldn't fault it - it was delicious. We did have to chase up our second round of drinks - but in the pleasant lunchtime atmosphere and surrounded by good food, it really wasn't an issue.

Well done - much improved.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gorsefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“special service and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

we went as a large group at very short notice and were well pleased with the food and service.we were given the balcony all to ourselves and enjoyed it very much

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swallows Return also viewed

Climping, Arun District
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Hassocks, West Sussex
Fontwell, West Sussex
 
Patching, Arun District
 

Been to The Swallows Return? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing