We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friday night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ardington Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“friday night stay”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

very nice friendly hotel. the room was a bit small but was booked at last moment and they only had two rooms left. breakfast was superb and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. very clean room and bathroom. will stay again

Room Tip: dont pick room 45 as it is small, but very clean and the bed comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    135
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
104
111
34
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have stayed at and seen multiple hotels in Worthing and while all have been good experiences, The Ardington Hotel is hands down my favorite in Worthing. It mixes the charm and individual service of a bed and breakfast with the class of an actual hotel. The location is great and within easy walking distance to shops, grocery stores, other restaurants, and the promenade. They have various room sizes and I have stayed in everything from a single to a Premium Double and have been happy with all of them--if you are picky on size, let reservations know so they can try to accomodate your needs. As with most places in Worthing, they do not have air conditioning in the rooms, but provide fans--there were a couple times when all the fans by the time I requested one during a hot spell, but I just learned to request it earlier. Bottom line is, the owners and staff really want you to enjoy your stay and will do what's in their power to make it lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorien A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Once again the lobster season has started and is on the menu. The other day we were notified that the Indigo was offering fresh lobster. For less than £15 I had half a lobster and a couple of large prawns. Same price as last year and just as tasty. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worthingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We recently spent three nights at this small, family owned hotel in Worthing. From the time we arrived we could not have been made more welcome. Richard, one of the owners, was there to greet us and help us park the car and deal with our luggage. Lindsey at reception was delightful and went out of her way to be helpful. Our room was not large, but there was space enough and everything was spotlessly clean. Nice bed linens and a very comfortable bed. We dined in the Indigo restaurant on our first night and the food was delicious and service first class. Good wine list too. Richard or his brother Simon were always around to make sure that things ran smoothly. Breakfasts, which were included in the room rate, were a real treat- everything from kippers to eggs anyway you desired. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent four nights here. The room we were given when we checked in was fairly large with a fridge and was bright and airy. Unfortunately some sort of duct right outside which was noisy. We were told this switched off overnight so wouldn't disturb but they offered us another room anyway. The new room was a lot smaller with little natural light but was quieter.
The bed was comfy but the room really was too small for two people for anything more than a couple of nights and as a base for going out and about which the hotel is in a good location for. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Very busy road to the front so if you want the windows open go for a room at the back. Standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Since we moved away from Worthing a year ago, much has changed in the town, however, the restaurant here at the Ardington Hotel still delivers a great meal, reliably and stylishly. It's a class act, from greeting, to bar to table and then back to the lounge for a coffee and petits fours in comfort.
The Sunday table d'hote menu was well balanced and four of us ate three courses, some very decent wine, and sundry drinks, at around £150. Not the cheapest in town, but worth every penny. One other restaurant has first class food to compare, but the ambience and facilities could not compare with Indigo. The service is impeccable.. one thing I regret leaving behind is the opportunity to eat here. They do a more modestly priced easi lunch which is also excellent. i've brought a number of different guests here, and never had a bad meal. We've never stayed in the hotel, but I would be interested to try it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I am fortunate to dine out fairly frequently and have become accustomed to fair to middling service and food. All the training resturants in the country would do themselves a favour by treating themselves to a meal at the Indigo Resturant as they will learn how service should be done.

We ( I was dining with my parents and sister) were spoken to politely by all waiting staff and where there was a minor slip up with my drink's order, the error was addressed swiftly and with humour and grace.

The manager of the resturant made our dining experience an absolute joy by making us laugh and making conversation so that we felt at home; he also made it his business to ensure that all was acceptable with our food - which was delicious, throughout our time there.

On the subject of the food, my family orded from the A La Carte menu and were very pleased with the quality of product and quantity of food which as Goldilocks would say was 'just right'. Our plates were not overloaded so that we became overfaced with the food. I ordered from the set lunch menu and was equally impressed with my meal of: sardines, followed by pork belly and finished with Indigo Mess.

The whole ambiance of the resturant is firstclass. There were a number of diners in the resturant when we arrived but still the atmosphere was calm and relaxed and as the tables are arranged with plenty of space between each other there is no chance of being disturbed by another group.

This was a special meal for my parents who were celebrating their 48th wedding anniversary but I get the feeling that even if you just call in to have lunch on an ordinary day, your experience would be the same as ours: it would be a warm welcome, delicious food and all at a fair price.

I reccommend Indigo Resturant very highly and look forward to making a return in the not too distant future.

Pamela Gough

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel this time, but will do so in the future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardington Hotel

Property: The Ardington Hotel
Address: Steyne Gardens, Worthing BN11 3DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ardington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ardington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardington Hotel Worthing
The Ardington Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing