We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food for Thought” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Food Restaurant

Food Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 344 Restaurants in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Food for Thought”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Having moved down here from the London area we were delighted to find Food. We have visited several times. The restaurant is housed in a converted garage, which has been beautifully decorated and is on two levels. We generally sit upstairs. Staff are always friendly and welcoming. Mostly we go for lunch and invariably choose the set lunch which is now £7. For one course. Still excellent value. Popcorn shrimps a must, roast pork always excellent, other choices include pasta of the day, minute steak, chicken Kiev. Wines reasonably priced as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FerringFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    185
    72
    37
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A disappointing experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our first visit to this restaurant was to celebrate my daughter's birthday. Overall this dining experience was a great disappointment. We were greeted in a friendly manner so first impressions were positive. The building is well designed and has a lovely ambience. After being ushered upstairs we found the service very poor. Unfortunately our waiter was surly and gave little attention to two women diners. For example, he did not check if we required further drinks. condiments, or if we had enjoyed our meals. In contrast he 'buzzed' around the larger groups and appeared attentive. Our starters of Mini Oxtail Suet were good and one main course of Belly Pork were tasty. In contrast my burger lacked any seasoning and was overcooked. The chips were not cooked sufficiently so in consequence I left most of this course. I am at a loss at to how this could be classed as 'great food'. To be quite fair it may be that our view has been affected by one member of staff and this is not a true reflection of this venue. However, management should ensure that all clientele feel valued and ensure consistency in the cooking!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donna y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Always good food. Lovely atmosphere the Mini Oxtail Suet Tulip is one of the best starters I have eaten wish they did it as a main meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank carter94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yearly birthday treat for me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

best restaurant .The food is always fresh and cooked to perfection, staff friendly and polite at all times. Atmosphere is good and the piano playing just perfect. great place to go with friends or as a couple. Cannot wait to go back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jo anne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food is THE classy restaurant in Worthing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

In this old refurbished furniture warehouse you get a classy continental metropolic athmosphere together with a candid menu well executed in the kitchen. We ate 5 persons with drinks, 3 bottles of wine, irish coffees etc for 36 pounds per head. We often pay that for the main dish and dessert in a restaurant at a similar level. Keep up the good work. The Beef Wellington was very good, again. Oh, i almost forgot to mention the live piano player that really gives the mood a notch upwards.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nils n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Restaurant also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to Food Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing