We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angmering Manor(Angmering)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveler rating
81
91
70
59
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
91
70
59
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshighdown gardenscarvery mealnice carverywindow framesfunction roomlovely locationwaiting staffbiscuitslovely roomfull englishtearoom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 375 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Having read all of the reviews we nearly gave this hotel a miss, but as it was the only one close to the venue for a party we were attending we felt we had little choice.

Fearing the worst we were very pleasantly surprised. Staff were helpful, hotel was clean and breakfast was good (though they'd run out of marmalade!), We stayed in the annex and our room was spacious, warm, and newly refurbished. It was spotlessly clean and stocked with plentiful tea, coffee, biscuits, and toiletries . Wifi service was a bit patchy in the evening but alright at other times.

Good value at under £70

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Six months ago I booked every room in this hotel (at my fiance's request, as it was close to the venue, i didn't much like the look of the place - very dirty) for our guests to stay in on the night of our wedding. We were getting married nearby, but not in the actual hotel - thank god! At the end of November I called to check on the type of rooms they had and the number, and was given the information by Tom, the lad who took my initial reservation. He also confirmed my booking over the phone at the same time. We got a phone call from Nicola two days later to say there had been a mixup during a change to a different booking system in the summer and they already had the hotel booked out for a wedding that was taking place in the hotel. Therefore she calmly told me that we'd have to go elsewhere, as 'obviously we have to give priority to the other people'. I was fuming, especially as i was given no kind of apology whatsoever and Nicola even said she didn't know what i was angry about. The wedding is in just over 4 months and I have no accommodation for guests coming from overseas!!! Absolutely disgusting customer service. I feel really sorry for the couple who are actually getting married there.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola P, Manager at The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We are terribly sorry that your Hotel booking had to be cancelled, but as you have said we do have our Wedding Party that had also booked the hotel prior to yourselves, & this had been overlooked when we replaced the Hotel System & during the phone call we appolgised for the over sight.
We informed yourselves as soon as this became apparent & thankfully for both parties this was 6 months prior to your weddings. We wish you all the Happiness in the world for your up coming May wedding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Wasn't too sure on booking due to mixed reviews - but everything about the stay was brilliant. Room of superb standard, good quality food and plentiful,very obliging and lovely staff. Location peaceful and welcome warm. Planning to stay again next year as will be attending a course nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sootysu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Came here for a carvery this evening for a change. As we entered there was a sign stating to wait for a table.. We waited. Eventually we gave up and went to the bar to get a drink and we're greeted by a extremely rude barman who looked almost annoyed we'd come in, maybe he wanted to go home I don't know but it's unacceptable at only 8pm. After having our carvers tickets shoved at us we went to the counter, the food here is lovely, running a bit low on choices but we knew it would be as its later in the evening. Would I recommend- no. When you go out for a meal the food is important but it needs to be accompanied but attests 'decent' service. Me and my partner both work in a pub and are glad we have no staff like there are here, completely cold and unwelcoming. Very sad as beautiful location and lovely food severely let down here.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank seasidegirlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as wedding guests. No staff to give directions to where the wedding was taking place, not even a sign. It was raining heavily and we were expected to walk around the building trying at each entrance to find out where we were meant to be. Great start to the wedding. The day had no direction, badly planned by the wedding co-ordinator and certainly not customer focused. The Mansion suite had a mattress that was worse than any cheap hostel, the boards under the bed could be felt through it. No phones in the room, no room service and at a cost of £100 per night totally inadequate facilities. Even getting a coffee during the wedding reception meant leaving the party going outside in the rain to get coffee from a different part of the hotel. Obviously this place is run for the convenience of staff and not the customers. Breakfast is totally self service even down to making your own tea/coffee. 20 people and one six slice toaster does not equate to hot toast. So if you want substandard service, a bad night's sleep and no service then feel free to use this hotel, rest assured we won't be returning.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the mansion suit. unless you have a bad back and need boards to support you.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivien12347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews