We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE HIGHDOWN IS HIGH-UP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stopped off for one night as somewhere to stay when on a long car journey. The hotel is reasonably close to the A27 and we were efficiently welcomed at our late arrival. The staff were efficient and helpful throughout the stay. The room was clean, warm, large and adequately furnished: the decor was in good order and everything worked in the generously-sized bathroom. Our accommodation was in a building separate from the reception and dining facilities as the hotel seems to be a collection of buildings making up an old country house with a carriage-house, etc. Check for accessibility options if this is important to you. There's a tea room as well as the restaurant and bar: and there's an outside terrace and more than adequate parking. The location set well back from the road means that it is quiet and peaceful. Perhaps someone has been shaving a penny or two off the breakfast: the coffee was instant and the bacon was a little fatty - but you could help yourself and there was a wide selection of typical breakfast choices. Wi-Fi can apparently be a little slow.

Room Tip: All rooms are a little different because of the buildings in which they are in. Ask in advance if th...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 352 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Staff not very welcoming at reception. Function room staff not very engaging. En-suite looking a little tired with mould around the bath and a very noisy extractor fan. The evening food provided for our party was excellent. Breakfast was good and overall it was good value for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikemayTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Really happy to have returned to Highdown for another visit, myself and my partner enjoyed a relaxing evening. The hotel is peaceful at night, the room was clean and inviting.
Upon checking in I was greeted by a friendly and welcoming member of staff.
As always there were plenty of parking, and the facilities were to a good standard.
Thank you very much for another memorable visit!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntEzzyLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

but for me a pleasant surprise.

Ample parking, friendly welcome on arrival, clean comfortable spavcious room, wi-fi a bit erratic but hey, it's free, Meal in he carvery was basic but plenty of it, nice bar to chill in,all at a budget price. If I had paid twice as much, i.e. stayed anywhere else locally, then I might have a grumble or two but value for money this was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Attended a fantastic and memorable wedding. Party room and food were excellent, great layout, not at all cramped, nice decor & well presented. A great day in a great venue. Nice and private, felt our party had full use of the venue with no 'outsiders'.

Main course of chicken wrapped in quality ham with creamy mushroom sauce was very impressive & tasty. So overall a great review except...filthy glasses in the bar & not the best managed draught bitter in the world. There seemed little point in saying anything to the young bar staff and asking for a clean glass just resulted in receiving another dirty one!
(Didn't stay overnight so can't comment about the rooms).

I was a little surprised at how firm an older member of staff was at ushering people out at the end of the night. Almost immediately after midnight as weary partygoers were gradually leaving and saying their goodbyes after a long day of happy celebration, this woman was abruptly asking, no telling, people to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank HonestRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Traditional awful British Carvery complete with soggy veg and horrible smell, cheap if you eat this sort of awful rubbish.Better off going to the lovely tea rooms opposite for some nice food with a smile.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at The Highdown Carvery Restaurant.
We were celebrating a birthday, there were 8 of us and it couldn't have been nicer. The carvery food was delicious, the vegetables really nicely cooked, nothing to complain about here!
The staff were very helpful, we had brought in our own birthday cake, which we left in the kitchen, the staff brought it out, candles lit and supplied the plates and serviettes for it.
To be honest, I wouldn't have wished to be anywhere else.
Back soon, for sure!

Room Tip: We did not stay, restaurant visit only.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Thea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
3.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
408 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
3.5 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 11 in Worthing
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
244 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
478 reviews
1.7 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Littlehampton Road, Worthing BN12 6PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range: $84 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highdown Hotel And Restaurant
Highdown Hotel Worthing
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing