We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carvery - Won't be going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Carvery - Won't be going back!”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Arrived for a family meal for 10, told it would be 30 - 45 minutes wait, which was fair enough, it was very busy. Meal very disappointing, poor selection of vegetables, roast potatoes could have been "Aunt Bessies", and only one gravy. The only thing to be said for the food was that it was hot.
The head waitress who allocates tables has an attitude problem, overall not very friendly, welcoming or accommodating.
Chose Highdown Towers for the location and views as we had visitors, but we definitely wont be returning. Will stick with the Toby Carvery in Goring!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Trudy2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    83
    58
    52
    65
See reviews for
94
115
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sompting, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We visited on Sunday 25th March and enjoyed a traditional carvery meal. A couple of minor points to note. Firstly we were charged £8.95 each for adults whereas the website currently shows the price as £7.95. Secondly we asked the waitress as we sat down how much our 2 young children, aged 5 and 6 would pay and were told they would be halfprice.However they were actually charged £6.95 which seems a little toomuch for that age group.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here when we visited my family and the service was excellent. We reached Worthing before our check in time so the staff stored our luggage for us so that we could come back later. They explained everything to do with getting into the hotel late at night and times for breakfast etc.
The staff were really helpful and friendly. The room was a much greater size to other hotels I've stayed in. The bed was so comfortable we skipped breakfast because we didn't want to get out!
We didn't eat at the hotel for dinner either during our stay because we'd already made other arrangements but next time we will definatly consider this option.
The stay for us was really nice and made our trip very good. We'll definatly be booking again in the future!

Room Tip: Room 7 was good! Quiet & comfortable. The room is in the corner so it is spaceous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuntEzzyLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I would never go there again food is dry and tough roast pots don't taste like pots very very bad

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Babycani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Worthing hotels

Essex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Dusty room. Cramped room. Large skylight with no covering so fine for an early riser! Mouldy shower. No fire safety information in room. No night porter or contact in case of emergencies at night. Badly managed. Struggle with my bags to annex - no assistance was offered. Hideous carvery. No waiter at breakfast. Poor food hygiene practises witnessed. Walls in bedrooms are paper thin. Got a full refund and no sleep :-(

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank daisy4223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Lovely building, very friendly staff, carvery not my thing but had v nice meal off the menu.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonluci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed for one night only, in this beautiful old building. I live local and have always looked up the hill and admired this wonderful building on top of our south downs and wanted to stay here. To be frankly honest, I was very dissapointed! The rooms do not reflect the advertised rooms on line, what you actually get are dirty rooms, with cheap furnishings. The wardrobe door hanging off it's hinges an will not stay shut, there were sticky patches from a split drink all over the bedside table and the bathroom was not clean, the toilet had not been flushed from the last user, there was hair in the dirty bath, the only thing that was clean, was the linen! The resaurtant was not much better, the cutlery was dirty, the menu also tired and dirty, we ordered food off the menu, which was good, the breakfast from the buffet was ok. The service from the staff was friendly enough when you could find them, there was a booking error, but had no contact from the hotel at all to inform us that we could not have the room we had booked. All in all, we made the most of our stay but will definately not recommend this hotel and will not visit again. How it earned 3 stars is beyond me

Room Tip: I cannot recommend this Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
3.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
372 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 11 in Worthing
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
228 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
296 reviews
1.7 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Littlehampton Road, Worthing BN12 6PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highdown Hotel And Restaurant
Highdown Hotel Worthing
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing