We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Manchester/Brighton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We help our wedding reception here at the beginning of September and had a wonderful day. Venue was supurb and food gorgeous with perfect portions and service by the waitresses! Nikki the manager was there the whole afternoon to guide us and make sure everything ran smoothly.
The DJ was first class and would recommend him to anybody! He had everything we'd asked for and was completely open to what we had in mind. He had everyone up dancing and for a short time we even had the staff joining in after a nodd from Nikki :)
None of our guests had a bad word to say about their hotel rooms and ours was stunning.
Breakfast was supurb with a full English to help yourself to and a few of us even stayed for a spot of tea and a HUGE piece of bread and butter pudding in the tea rooms next door.
In hindsight it would have been good to organise things a little more but that is our fault for living so far away- Nikki, Barry and the team did everything humanly possible to make our day perfect and it was! Thank you Highdown

Room Tip: Rooms aren't ultra modern and sleek but if you had that here it'd lose it's personality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBlue777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    83
    58
    51
    65
See reviews for
93
115
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We recently stayed here for a friends wedding and it made me, my husband and my 20 month old son sick. The room was very dirty, there was a smell of dampness and everything was held together with Sellotape if my friend wasn't getting married he we would not have stayed here which is a shame as the wedding venue was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ALICIAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Worthing hotels

Dalyan, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have read the review below and would like to state i was in the reception when this couple were there, they were very offish and rude to the receptionist, i`m surprised she didn`t kick them out but she was polite and found a room for them in another hotel i certainley wouldn`t have bothered with trying !!
I stayed in room 3 which is a large room, clean & comfortable but could do with a refurbish as the paintwork is looking a little sad. Breakfast was brilliant with a full fry up of all you can eat i was in my elliment. The staff & management were most helpful and i must thank barry for keeping the bar open past 8.30 as on a previous stay last year i will definatley be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We only tried the Highdown tearooms, but they were lovely. All the cakes looked homemade and delicious. A nice little gimmick is the pricing - a sliding scale depending on the numbers. A pot of tea for two is cheaper than two separate ones! Same with the excellent cream teas. A real indulgence. Quite compact (with a small outside seating area), but warm and welcoming on a grotty day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Formarlly booked hotel for three days diirect with Manager Barry [--] who stressed no paperwork. We drafted a letter to ensure booking. An additional one day was added again direct with hotel. On arrival after 3 hour journey and looking forward to holiday were informed no booking received for additional day and hotel was full. No apology and advised they could not help. Hotel receptionist and Barry [--] showed no interest whatsoever in our position only to state bookings on line take priority even if recieved several days after a direct booking!! What a load of total rubbish. We would advise any one not to book direct and be prepared for total non cooperation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

When we read the terrible reviews AFTER we had booked & paid I was very upset & wanted to cancel, however when we arrived after a 4 hour journey we were pleasantly suprised at the room, It was clean, but could have been better (not as bad as the reviews made it out to be) the bedding was immaculate & you could eat off the bathroom floor as it was like a new pin. The breakfast was lovely. We had the Carvery for Tea, the 1st night, which was 1st class, the menu was basic 'Pub Grub' but it was all cooked perfectly. We met the managers Nicola & Barrie (we were the last to leave the Bar) & we commented on Trip Advisors BAD reviews as we found it hard to believe, they told us that they only took over in March of this year & were trying hard to change the image but everything takes time. All I can say is that we had a lovely week at Highdown Hotel & would definately go again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I booked a double room for one night for a nearby wedding reception. First of all, the hotel is set quite away from any busy/noisy road, up a lovely wooded road, so it was lovely and quiet. The hotel itself from first view looks a bit like a mini-castle! The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. They were even able to answer my questions about the history of the hotel and the interesting feature of an old bunker which is now their function room! My double room was a good size and had everything I needed. I slept very soundly and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this local area. There was even a complimentary breakfast which had everything you could possibly want to eat for breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
3.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.7 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Littlehampton Road, Worthing BN12 6PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highdown Hotel And Restaurant
Highdown Hotel Worthing
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing