We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
22
14
19
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
22
14
19
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews goose feather comfy bed night stay short stay clive pubs texted tv settee loo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 77 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2018

We stayed at Worthing Rest for 2 night and had a lovely time. Yes it is unmanned but we didn't need anybody. Room was incredibly clean, spacious and well stocked with tea, coffee and Milk. Toiletries provided as well. Lovely quaint village with great pubs with good home cooked food. Taxi into Worthing was £10, use Arrow taxis they are much cheaper than white cabs. Would definitely use again and a bargain price too. Good communication from the owner Clive too - thank you

Room tip: We stayed in Room 7 which I cannot fault
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tonbridge2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2018

We stayed at the Findon Rest - part of this group. We knew it was unmanned, we knew there was no breakfast. It was a 1 night stay for a wedding in the area. We arrived before the evening do. Easy to get the texted code to get in. Room is quite spacious (helped by open roof space) and obviously a little below ground level. The bathroom extractor fan did not appear to be working and we are assuming this - with the macerating loo - was the reason for the strong smell of drains immediately we opened the door. Impossible to air the room. One blind on the inside of the main window (which faced two roads) with no curtaining meant little sleep as every set of headlights swept the bed. Nice looking 'old-fashioned style' bed - with one knob missing was reasonably comfortable but all the pillows appeared to be filled with concrete. Curt notice in particulars stating no other pillows available. Only one of us had a bedside light and/or somewhere to put a morning cup of tea as a (very small) two seater sofa - with plastic, wipeclean upholstery - squeezed on the other side beside railings dividing the two portions of the room.
Brochure gave details of places for breakfast, but none of these open on Sunday morning. Enough milk straws for only a couple of cups of coffee/tea apiece. Encouragement to bring food back to eat if wanted was rather frustrated by complete absence of any cutlery or crockery except mugs and teaspoons.
Would I go back? Not on your life I wouldn't. This place had, for us at any rate, all the signs of a venture which wanted to make it look 'boutique-y' but using the cheapest possible kit. I felt definitely ripped off in terms of what I got for the price, and the smell left me feeling queasy all day.

Room tip: Find somewhere else
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2018

Easy to access (I texted rather than called the owner to get the codes- very helpful) and enjoyed the privacy. Good sized appt with a comfy bed & nice en-suite (photos don't do it justice ) in a quiet village surrounded by gorgeous countryside. Hope to stay again.

Room tip: Room 9 comfortable size.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ultraviolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2017

This was a one night stay for us, we knew it was unmanned and accepted that we had to have codes to access the property and the room. However we thought we were going to receive a text with this information when we could access the room after 14.00. we eventually had to ring and were then sent the codes at 15.51. once in the room we found that the bedding was all feathers and as my wife is asthmatic could not sleep with these. After another call we were told that was all that was available, so ended up having to go out and buy foam bedding for the night.
Finally we found the bed was lumpy and very uncomfortable, so much so I slept most of the night in a chair. This was not a good experience for us and we will not be using this establishment again, nor will we be recommending it to anyone. It is a great pity as we found the local people and other businesses were welcoming and made us feel we would like to visit the area again as long as we stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017

easy to access to room
lovely village location
nice room
nice bathroom and shower
excellent
nice tea coffee biscuits
plenty of towels for two
quite location nice pubs nearby
lovely walks in the countryside

Room tip: just excellent value
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tinkerbell662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews