We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunchtime value”

Carabao Thai Restaurant and Steak House
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Good lunchtime value”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My friend & I were looking for somewhere to have lunch in Worthing and literally just picked this out of the blue. The inside is quite large and fairly stylish with lots of dark wood. We chose the £6.99 lunch menu, you choose the dish and then the meat you want with it. We had the red curry with chicken and the noodles with prawns. We both found our meals tasty, not going to completely fill you up but that suits me fine as I don't normally eat lunch. The white wine was a bit too sweet for me but having said that it went fine with the curry, and the meal was certainly good value.

The staff were pleasant and I'd be happy to return, in fact I'm going to persuade my other half to come with me next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FerringFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    11
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went here with friends for my birthday and had a delicious meal. Excellent food and good service, every dish we had was well presented and really tasty. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susie_Stevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very Noice!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went here last month for lunch. Lovely venue, very swanky for Worthing! Really sweet staff. I generally ask for my food to be more spicy, so they kindly added chilli oil to my soup, extra chilli flakes to my stir fry, and even brought out an additional dish of fresh chopped chillies and some prik nam pla (chillies in fish sauce). Was delish!!! I think some of the reviews about it being bland should take my advice and ask for it spicier! They are more than happy to add items. The free glass of vino was superb for a house white. I had two more! Lovely lunch! I'm off back over to Worthing today and revisiting. I've eaten in 4 of the Thais in Worthing now, this is joint favourite with Lemongrass! See you soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoveWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Made an impromptu visit here on an evening out one Sunday recently. It wasn't very busy, which is never a good sign. There was very little atmosphere & it took ages for someone to come & take our order. Waitresses didn't seem to know what was in the food, as my girlfriend is a coeliac & asked what certain dishes contained, they couldn't tell her 100%. Food then took an age to arrive (we went for the Thai side of the menu) & when it did it wasn't particularly impressive nor worth the wait. Oh, & it was expensive for what it was, probably wouldn't bother again...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Glad its re-opened”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The surroundings are pretty much the same as before it closed, so still very nice. The staff are very welcoming. And the food is tasty and plentiful. We had the Thai food exclusively, so i can't comment on the steaks, but the ones i saw on other tables did look delicious. Here's the thing in my opinion.. we all seem to have very different views of how "Thai" food should look and taste, I suppose it depends on our previous experiences. So I would suggest you go here and if you like it, go again, which i will be doing as i found the food to be much to my liking. I hope you do too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheesesalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carabao Thai Restaurant and Steak House also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing