We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding !!”
Review of Efes

Efes
Ranked #2 of 353 Restaurants in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $25
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Great authentic Turkish food at very reasonable prices, combined with friendly and efficient service.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Outstanding !!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came here for lunch (again!) over the weekend, can only describe the food here as outstanding! It is by far the most authentic Turkish we've been to, and the food is just delicious... bursting with freshness and flavour, and ozzing with the taste of Turkey.

The restaurant might be small and somewhat off the beaten track, but it just cannot be beaten for the quality of the cooking and the fabulously friendly, welcoming atmosphere and perfect service.

We have eaten a range of things here, and all have been fantastic, but we most recently shared the Efes Special platter for 2... wow! Filled to the brim with succulent cuts of juicy, tender meats, perfectly grilled over charcoal, giving that special Turkish flavour.

This was accompanied by two large bowls of fresh salad, with wonderful dressings and plenty of sumac sprinkled across the top, complimentary Turkish Pide (bread) and dips/olives, and the best Bulgur wheat salad we've ever tasted, even in Turkey.

And they even serve Turkish Gazoz (for us non-drinkers) - yippee!!

The service is exemplary, the prices are incredibly good value, and the food is just SO good you don't want to stop eating!! We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

It's also spotlessly clean, with clean and accessible, ground floor loos. Outside seating in private garden in summer, with shisha for those who are partial !

We'll be back... again and again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WorthingFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    114
    24
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“5* Turkish Food!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place has the best Turkish Food outside of Turkey itself, and I know a fair bit about Turkish cuisine! The perfect smoky charcoal grilled lamb is so juicy and tender, Iskender Kebab and fresh çoban salad are the tastiest and freshest I've had in UK. Traditional Tea and fresh Baklava finished a perfect meal. Plus excellent service and little complimentary extras make this my top restaurant in Worthing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laughingbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better than Turkey!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hidden in a side road in Worthing West Sussex is the very best Turkish Restaurant I have been to...actually, scrap that.

The very best restaurant I HAVE EVER BEEN TO.

Food is superb quality, fresh and plentiful.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Decor and ambience very good too.

Price? Well, my only concern is that given the amount of food and the quality, the restaurant surely can't continue with the very reasonable prices they charge!

Pleased to recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing UK
Level Contributor
173 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Efes is just excellent. Don't be out off by the location or that the kitchen is shared by the chippy next door. The food is fantastic and the atmosphere great. It is very small so best to book, we weren't able to book because we couldn't be sure when we would arrive so we in on the off-chance, fully booked so we deicide to get a take-away and they sat 3 of us round a small table to wait and luckily decided we could eat-in if we didn't mind the small table.

The garlicky dip they bring at the beginning of the meal is amazing. We had a mixed plate of cold meze, another of hot meze and the liver. All lovely but probably too much as the main portions are hearty; next time will stick to a plate of cold meze to share!

The mains were all delicious and then we went onto the puddings... the kunefe has to be tried - it is amazing and is freshly baked to order. It is a shallow dish with the shredded stuff (not sure what it is called but is like you get in baklava) with a thin layer of mozzarella in it - heaven on a plate!

It is good value for money - our 3 course meal with drinks (we don't drink much to be fair!) came to just over £20 per head. The atmosphere and service are great and the owner very friendly. Try it! They also do take-away and delivery if you can't get a table and a good value lunch menu.

It's good to see that review sites work as Efes and Crescent Road keep swapping between first and second place and in my view they are the best two restaurants in Worthing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clamshell-Worthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Good, you will want to go back more than once”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

On a recent trip to West Worthing, my sister-in-law brought me to this wonderful Turkish restaurant. All fresh food, expertly prepared, tasty and varied. The lamb ribs were my favorite, but the meza plate offers a wonderful variety of appetizers with calamari, goat cheese and deep fried halumi, among other delicious delicacies. We did go back again and it was just as good the second time. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquiW772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Efes also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to Efes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing