We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Expectations- Delivered”

The Charles Dickens Pub
Ranked #216 of 347 Restaurants in Worthing
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a pub/restaurant close to the seafront in Worthing. We strive to provide a wide range of dishes that are prepared in house and served with fresh ingredients. With a lunch menu, burger menu, dinner menu and specials, there is a great range of food to choose from. Our bar is stocked with the finest Local Real Ales, Lagers, Wines and Spirits from around the world. We specialise in Whiskey with over 60 different bottles from the Highlands to the Lowlands, Speyside to Islay Malt's, Irish to World. We are family friendly and also dog friendly.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Expectations- Delivered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Went there recently and can honestly say that as a pub, the Charles Dickens is one of Worthing's best - one of the few places with a decent ambiance and atmosphere without Sky TV everywhere.

Good service from friendly bar staff and great selection of ales and spirits. Lots of nooks and crannies and a really nice warm vibe to it and a well maintained garden/patio area which is really nice in summer.

Food is outstanding - certainly the best I have come across in any pub and many restaurants not just in Worthing. Reasonably priced and portions are more than generous. Most of it is cooked fresh on the premises and sourced locally. Have eaten there and never had a bad experience. Took my partner and our respective elderly mothers there for a pre-Xmas meal which was superb.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    15
    3
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Upper Beeding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Luvly Grub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This pub is one of the most unusual we've ever been in. Don't expect luxury, it's really quite scruffy in many ways. That's Scruffy, not Grubby! It looks for all the world like someone has opened up shop in their house; it's all little rooms, up & down stairs. There are some quite fruity characters among the regulars as well! It all goes to make an intriguing mix.
But it is all about the lovely food. Good, home cooked,hearty food,well cooked and served piping hot. The Lamb shanks and Sunday roast come highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank crathiegirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Engagement party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I should have left this revew last year but never got round to it. We held our engagement party in the function room at the Charles Dickens. the room was FOC plus we had our own private bar person. The catering was done by the pub and for the price we paid was brilliant, there was loads of food and infact think we could have catered for less numbers and there would still be plenty. The pub arranged for my mp3 player to work through the PA system so i didnt have to organise a DJ at extra cost.
I would say to anyone who is looking for a function room to use this one.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“third time unlucky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have visited the Dickens before and had lovely meals, this time however we were unlucky.We had two evening and two lunch times were the food was good.On the Saturday evening four of us went. Two of the meals were inedible whether because of the butcher or the chef we wont know as the chef would not speak to us.They did not take any money for it but it did spoil our evening.We will have to think twice before we go again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STITCHHELEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Watch Mo Farah win his race”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a great meal with my family and in laws.
Good food, good atmosphere, good wine.
A good meal had by all.
Recommend the Spanish chicken!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emluca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Charles Dickens Pub also viewed

East Preston, Arun District
 
Walberton, Arun District
 

Been to The Charles Dickens Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing