We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sylvan Oak

Sylvan Oak
Ranked #21 of 344 Restaurants in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $49
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Friendly casual fine dinning food. Locally sourced produce in a lovely Sussex Village.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I went for my birthday meal and had never heard of the restaurant before but discovered it on Trip Advisor. What a hidden gem, the food was exceptional, the best food I have had in years. The starter of scallops and pork belly was melt in your mouth, a marriage made in heaven. Followed by Fillet of Beef which was so succulent, the knife just glided through the meat. Then the most amazing dessert, Peanut & Honeycomb cheesecake. The restaurant has a lovely ambience and atmosphere and the staff were great. We're so pleased we have discovered this restaurant, well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    37
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

They were very friendly staff and good food. This is the second time I've eaten at this restaurant and would recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank VickyA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent,superb quality food..... Although had to pay extra!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very pleased with the food, did have to pay extra for the steak dish but was worth it. Service friendly, not really efficient as one would like. But the evening was lovely. I'm back there this weekend. So will update.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephie-alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Valentines Day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked a table for two couples, there was live music which was too loud we asked for it to be turned down so we could talk. Nothing happened so when we turned the speaker down which was literally 8 inches above my head the artist was upset. Musicians in need to realise that if the food is £50 per head its worth more than they are. As it happens the food wasn't worth it either and the vegetarian option was poor. I think this was an unusually bad night and the reputation of the Sylvian Oak is good but we didn't have a good time and did not receive an apology.

Helpful?
3 Thank fatboygto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvanFindon, Manager at Sylvan Oak, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Firstly, our sincerest apologies for taking so long to respond to this comment. We have only just got to grips with the response tool that Trip-Advisor provides to enable us to replies back to customer opinions; this is purely due to a lack of time on our side since we first opened the comments page. In the meantime (and amongst other duties), we have been concentrating our efforts on improving things further in the Findon restaurant, particularly if we receive customer comments and suggestions; thankfully these have been predominantly positive as illustrated by our stats-bars at the top of the page. We have also been busy building on the success of the last four years by planning our next restaurant venture in South London which we plan to have open by Christmas.

To turn to your comments: You are absolutely correct here, musicians do need to realise that the wishes of the customer are paramount and artistic petulance should never overrule the wishes of the paying public; we apologise unreservedly for any inconvenience suffered as a result of this incident. Re: the food: First, we appreciate your balanced and objective comment that this must have been "an unusually bad night". We regret the fact that the menu was unsuitable, particularly the vegetarian option. In the last twelve months the menu has been completely revamped by our chefs - one of whom leaves us soon to head up the team at our S. London restaurant. We sincerely hope that you will visit us again in the near future to experience Sylvan Oak hospitality. If you do please identify yourself to us so that we can find you a nice wine accompaniment (that has been maturing even longer than this regrettably tardy reply).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Chose this restaurant as a rare treat to celebrate our anniversary after downloading the menu - two courses £20 three courses £26. There were 2 starters and 3 main courses that cost more however the lamb and beef dishes we had chosen didn't have an extra charge. The menu we were given didn't resemble the on line menu and although there was a lamb & beef dish on the menu these were at an extra cost of £ 8-10 each. Nearly everything on the menu had an extra cost we therefore ended up choosing dishes that were not our first choice. The food was nice but the portions small I thought my vegetables were a garnish! We ordered sweets but they never came so we paid and left. Went home and had a couple of rounds of cheese on toast as we were still hungry

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 502Tilly007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvanFindon, Manager at Sylvan Oak, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Firstly, our sincerest apologies for taking so long to respond to this comment. We have only just got to grips with the response tool that Trip-Advisor provides to enable us to replies back to customer opinions. The time that has elapsed in no way diminishes the importance and value of your comments which we take extremely seriously.

To turn to your comments: We have looked back at our records to try and establish what happened here: it transpires that the menu that you downloaded had been superceded by the time that you visited us (mid-September 2012). This is 100% our mistake and we are very sorry that this lack of synchronism on our part - the delay between the redesign of our menu for restaurant use and publishing this on our web site - proved disappointing for you.

Menu redesigns are something that we do on a regular basis as the seasons change and also to ensure that our many regular clients can experience variety when dining with us; portion size is something that we also keep under constant review. We hope that you will visit us soon so that we can make reparation for your experience; please mention your review when you visit us so that we can ensure that this happens and can check back with you at the end to make doubly sure that we have made amends for this cyber-shortfall.

Constructive criticism is always welcome and so we thank you for balancing your review with positive comments about the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvan Oak also viewed

 

Been to Sylvan Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing