We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish and Chips - Excellent” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Worthing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips - Excellent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

A group of us had a meal here and found all the staff very friendly - I can definitely recommend the fish and chips priced at £11.95, bit pricey but nice. We should have booked the restaurant, but didn't realise they had one so we dined in the pub bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
32
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here for one night on my way to Portsmouth and was very well impressed with everything. The staff were very friendly, the food was excellent and plentiful, and the bed was comfortable.I will definitely stay here again.I would recommend this place to anyone needing a good nights accommodation in this area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Driller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I took my mum to this pub earlier in the year for lunch as she [Mum] used to live in Findon Valley. We had an excellent experience, including meeting the gentle Ruby (pub dog) in front of the log burner. When it came to choosing another venue in the Worthing area, the Village House was the first website I Googled. Booking a table by phone was efficiently done in a very friendly manner, despite my enthusiastic pre-09:00 call. On arrival for Saturday lunch, we had a choice of two tables as soon as I approached the bar.

I'd had the delicious chicken pie before, so opting for the fish pie on the blackboard was an easy choice. The ladies had calve's liver and bacon, which looked superb. My pie, in an individual pot with mash topping, had mixed chunks of fish in a tasty sauce, with the side vegetables perfectly prepared. The only disappointment was that the apple crumble and custard was sold out by the time I caught the waitress's eye to ask for the dessert menu (she said it was her favourite when she ate there). No matter, the baked, plain cheesecake with fruits and coulis was a good substitute. Service was attentive and quick; the Harveys Sussex Best Bitter in perfect condition, with good coffee afterwards. I was impressed by the range of ales on offer, with a small, sealed pot in front of each pump to show colour and clarity of each option (something I've never seen before and showed a pride in the cellar's contents, I felt). This is definitely a local's pub and the welcome extended to dogs was refreshing. Okay, it's not cheap, but the quality is such that I'd love to return (not many pubs do budget food these days). Ruby didn't ignore us on our second visit, but she's a bit of a trollop when it comes to having her ears fondled.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had a rubbish week. Went to the pub for a drink and ended up with fish and chips. My other half had pie and chips( homemade) what a lovely evening. Clean friendly. Great atmosphere .Well done Team Village.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Passing through, on the way home to Essex, we stayed at this pub/hotel for one night. The room was comfortable, clean and tidy. Went to the bar for our evening meal, to be met by Ruby, the gorgeous, friendly pub dog ... she's obviously very well trained and doesn't bother you when you're eating your meal. There is a set menu and daily specials. I chose to have ham, eggs and chips. The home-cooked ham was the best I've ever tasted. If you can't decide on what to have, do try this. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed and the pub became very busy later on, proving that this is a successful and popular local pub. I believe the building is very old and this adds to its charm. We had a lovely stay and would, if passing, stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a gem of a pub located in the heart of a beautiful village. I was staying in a nearby hotel whilst in the area for business and although a woman eating on my own never felt uncomfortable. The pub was buzzing even though it was a Monday night - lots of local characters (including their dogs) added to the atmosphere and if like me you are horse mad this is the place for you. Admittedly the food isn't cheap but was excellent and plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here one night after attending a wedding in the village. On the positive side, the staff were very friendly and attentive when we checked in, and the breakfast - both food and service was very good. Oh, and the dog was a complete star.
On the minus side, although the rooms were of a decent size the bed was not comfortable resulting in a poor night's sleep. This was compounded by that bugbear of mine from SO many places we've stayed: curtains that do not meet in the middle or do not cover the window fully resulting in bright light flooding in at dawn - resulting in less sleep.
So, it did the job required, a bit pricey for what we got but I guess it's not a cheap area, but please do something about the beds and certainly those curtains.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worthing hotels
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
4.3 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
4.3 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#7 of 11 in Worthing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village House Hotel

Property: Village House Hotel
Address: The Square | Findon Village, Worthing BN14 0TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village House Coaching Inn is nestled in the newly formed South Downs National Park, at the heart of the picturesque downland village of Findon, near Worthing and was first mentioned by name in the 'Findon Chronicles' in 1527 when it became the property of a Mr Thomas Beret. Since then the building has seen many changes of use and has been a private house as well as a convalescent home for the well heeled of London (no change there then). In the 1930s the Village House became a guest house and tea room - a recently found advertisement dating from this time boasted of... en pension terms of 2 ½ guineas to 4 guineas per week-according to room and season... and... rooms with such modern conveniences as electric light. Today our rooms still retain their old world charm and atmosphere, but we try to offer a little more luxury than in the 1930s. If you love walking, we are ideally located for both the South Downs and Monarchs Way, which both offer fantastic views across the south downs and Sussex coast. If golf is your passion there are two challenging golf courses nearby, or if it's horse racing, then Fontwell and Goodwood racecourses are within easy distance. Findon is also the home of the Gifford Racing Stables who produced the famous Grand National winner, Aldaniti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Village House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village House Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing