We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed??”

Istanbul Restaurant
Ranked #78 of 359 Restaurants in Worthing
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Closed??”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We wanted to eat dinner here on Tuesday evening1st October. We arrived around 7:15, and it was closed. I see on their website they are advertising a menu for Christmas 2013, not sure what's going on.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    61
    26
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“love this place”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

we often go into istanbul for lunch it has been a favorite lunch place to mine and my best friends for many many years. The staff have always been to friendly and welcome u with a smile and holding the door open on both entry and exit. The food here is amazing and so fresh and tasty i have never had a bad lunch here or dinner in all the years of coming. I have since made a made another friend a istanbul addict. so well done istanbul staff your all amazing. ps your new waiter (from romania) is a great addition he spent so much time talking to us and making our lunch out a great experiance. yum yum see you soon after my real trip to turkey next week. xx

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tinabutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Made a reservation on back of good reviews on tripadvisor - but......”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

On looking for a restaurant a little different for my Father's birthday (81) who was down from London, made a pre reservation at Istanbul on the back of some very good reviews here on Tripadvisor. when we arrived (on a Tuesday night) the first thing we note on entering the restaurant is signs advising of "wet paint". We were shown to our table (5 persons) by a very helpful man who advised us he would be our waiter the the evening. We sat down and were presented with menus and were asked what drinks we would like - we order a bottle of Merlot to commence with. At this stage we noticed there was no music or atmosphere - there was just one other table of two ladies dining - there was a distinct lack of the traditional Turkish atmosphere that we were expecting , I asked for the music to be turned up, but even then there was still absolutely no atmosphere whatsoever - coupled with this there was a very disturbing and off putting smell of fresh paint which you do not want when enjoying a special meal!
We appreciate that they are spending the time to maintain their upkeep , surely it would be better to close the restaurant for a couple of days rather than expect diners to encounter such a smell whilst eating.
Before the wine was opened we explained out dissatisfaction of this and made a swift exit to a local italian restaurant in Worthing which was absolutely buzzing with atmosphere - A good evening was enjoyed after all!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waste of money!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The food was bland and tasteless. Terrible service when we had to complain about a meal being different to how it was described on the menu. The meals were expensive for what we were served. Would never recommend this to anyone wanting an authentic meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely disgusting management”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My fiance, brother and sister in law and myself went to this restaurant expecting a lovely evening and meal...... how wrong could we be?? My fiance and brother had the mixed grill and it was nothing more than a kebab on a plate and Im being generous there! My sister in law had the lamb shank and it was bland and tasteless and i had king prawns in a tomato and cream sauce..... which had no cream but an abundance of cheese thrown on top to cover this up!! After complaining about this we were told we were in the wrong and the management wouldn't even acknowledge our complaint! Don't waste your money and go to another well established restaurant!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hertford77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Restaurant also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to Istanbul Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing