We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stayover with work”
Review of Merton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Worthing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merton House
Ranked #2 of 26 Worthing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had to work in Worthing at short notice. Enter Merton House who couldn't have been more helpful, from booking, to pick up at the station, to a tasty breakfast.

The room was spacious and comfortable with all you would expect; tea, coffee, biscuits, water and some Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries in the en suite. Free WiFi was helpful as I needed to do a bit of prep for work the next day.

Thanks Mark and Helene

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Goldhalva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

When a hotel booking was lost, and I was frantically trying to find somewhere to stay short-notice, Merton House came to the rescue. The rooms were spacious and clean, the beds very comfortable, and the bathroom facilities very good. Breakfast was lovely and generous portions! The owners were incredibly friendly and welcoming. Couldn't have asked for better. Will come back again and totally recommend to anyone who needs to stay in the Worthing/Brighton area. Reasonable prices and off street parking. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Really nice place, stayed here for a week whilst working down in worthing, I stayed in room one Which is really nice the breakfast was great Mark would cater to each persons needs. The only one small niggle with the room was you had to sit in the armchair to watch tv you couldn't watch it in bed but that didn't bother me much.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked at short notice to visit a friend in Worthing hospital. We were given a ground floor room on request which was lovely - comfortable, warm and clean. We were able to leave the car in the forecourt for the duration of our stay. Breakfast was excellent and Mark and Helen very welcoming and friendly. We would certainly stay there again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I've been twice at Merton House by now and I recommend it very much. Nice and very comfortable rooms, great breakfast and Mark and Helene always nice and helping. Having breakfast by the garden is a lovely memory.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guiomar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Mark even offered to ferry me to and from the station and makes a fabulous breakfast. Loved the extra touches like little chocolates with the tea making equipment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Mark and Helen made us most welcome. Our room was so clean and spotless it would have not surprised us if no-one else had ever slept there!!

It was warm despte the winter chill and the bed was comfy.

was able to park outside saving additional parking chrages and walk to all town centre amenities.
Recommend the "The Swan" pub nearby as well as Uncle Sams bugers!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.9 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 10 in Worthing
743 reviews
3.4 mi away
Village House Hotel
Village House Hotel
#5 of 26 in Worthing
101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in Worthing
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 10 in Worthing
251 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton House

Address: 96 Broadwater Road, Worthing, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Worthing
Price Range: $41 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merton House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Merton House Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing