We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owner, lovely place.”
Review of Merton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Worthing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merton House
Ranked #2 of 26 Worthing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Friendly owner, lovely place.”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Really nice place, stayed here for a week whilst working down in worthing, I stayed in room one Which is really nice the breakfast was great Mark would cater to each persons needs. The only one small niggle with the room was you had to sit in the armchair to watch tv you couldn't watch it in bed but that didn't bother me much.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
46
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked at short notice to visit a friend in Worthing hospital. We were given a ground floor room on request which was lovely - comfortable, warm and clean. We were able to leave the car in the forecourt for the duration of our stay. Breakfast was excellent and Mark and Helen very welcoming and friendly. We would certainly stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijon, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I've been twice at Merton House by now and I recommend it very much. Nice and very comfortable rooms, great breakfast and Mark and Helene always nice and helping. Having breakfast by the garden is a lovely memory.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guiomar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Mark even offered to ferry me to and from the station and makes a fabulous breakfast. Loved the extra touches like little chocolates with the tea making equipment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Mark and Helen made us most welcome. Our room was so clean and spotless it would have not surprised us if no-one else had ever slept there!!

It was warm despte the winter chill and the bed was comfy.

was able to park outside saving additional parking chrages and walk to all town centre amenities.
Recommend the "The Swan" pub nearby as well as Uncle Sams bugers!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Had a really comfortably stay in this friendly guest house.
Stayed for a week at short notice and was looked after exceptionally well. Mark the host was most accommodating and the breakfasts were superb and made to order. I thoroughly recommend Mark and Helene's guest host.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingvar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I'm a returning customer to Merton House due to ongoing work in Worthing and every time has been a delight. Everything you would expect from a quality guest house is here but it's the excellent hosts, Mark and Helene, that provide the edge. I've been very well looked after in the past months and would certainly return if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worthing hotels
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
0.9 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 11 in Worthing
679 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Worthing
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton House

Property: Merton House
Address: 96 Broadwater Road, Worthing, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merton House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Merton House Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing