We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifiul spring gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Highdown Gardens

Highdown Gardens
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Storrington, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautifiul spring gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when we visitied the gardens - it was Spring 2012 and there was an abundance of colour in the trees and plants.
There is plenty of close parking and we spent far more time here than planned as there was plenty of space for them to run around and lots to see for us adults - even more elderly visitors were able to navigate the pathways. I went home with photos of plants I had not seen before and plan to go back this spring/summer.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stevetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    158
    27
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Upper Beeding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Bit of a Tardis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wow! However did they manage to get so much into such a small area? This is an amazing place to spend some time; there's so much to see. Trees and plants from all over the world, as well as our own native ones, all in a beautifully landscaped setting. And the views form Highdown Hill are lovely. No wonder Mad Jack Fuller loved living here!

Helpful?
Thank crathiegirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Large Portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Excellent value and good sized portions.
Nice setting on the South Downs. Far better value and much smaller queues than the nearby Sea Lane Cafe

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Judith E”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went and visited when we thought it would never rain again, then someone said the word 'drought' the heavens opened and I didn't visit again in 2012. I would normally take photos winter, spring, summer & autumn. Lovely place to walk and a lovely Tea shop as a reward at the end of your walk.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“As peaceful as it gets!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Gorgeous gardens which my partner took me to for a walk around. The flowers were all out in bloom there were lovely grassed areas perfect for a picnic! Will definitely be going back here next summer/spring.

Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highdown Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Highdown Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing