We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum”

Worthing Museum and Art Gallery
Ranked #4 of 38 things to do in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you have a passion for the very best in Regency and Victorian fashion, want to be inspired by artists such as Stanley Spencer, William Holman-Hunt and Philip Jackson, or are looking to discover why Worthing residents take such quiet pride in 55,000 years of their achievements, then Worthing Museum and Art Gallery is the place to visit. A variety of events throughout the year link to many of the exhibitions. The Museum Team also offer curator-led talks, object handling workshops, and educational visits (including dressing up days). The elegant Edwardian building also houses a shop, has disabled access and toilets and free entry. Opening hours: Tues - Sat 10am - 5pm
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

It's a very good place to go with family or children to get some knowledge about the past. I've been there with my family from Poland and they were happy from visit. Recommend for everyone who live in Worthing xx

Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing M, Front Office Manager at Worthing Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to Worthing Museum. We try and make all our visitors' experience enjoyable and productive and our Education Manager works hard to ensure that children get the most out of their time here. Don't forget we have the Museum Mice Trail. A fun way for children to explore the Museum and its collections.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Worthing Museum and Art Gallery
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 181 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

We love Worthing Museum. It strikes the right balance between comfortingly familiar but always has something new.

Thank orinocojazzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing M, Front Office Manager at Worthing Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. It is lovely for us to hear that our visitors are enjoying their experience. You are correct in what you say, it is difficult to retain a balance between changing our displays and keeping them the same. When you next visit, please do complete a comment form, as we review all feedback with regards to our displays and want to ensure that we are meeting the needs and satisfaction of all our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Dropped in with an hour to kill, ended up staying longer browsing the various galleries and exhibits.

Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This museum isn't large but it manages to pack a lot into a small space without either dumbing-down or overwhelming the layman.
I was surprised and delighted to find the Roman period well-represented (blame historical whodunnits and mini-series) which probably has something to do with the huge Roman 'Palace' discovered just up the road at Fishbourne... but that's very definitely a day out.
What's nice about the Worthing Museum is you can walk around it in an hour, but to do do it justice it needs a morning, or afternoon, or do it in two bites with a leisurely lunch in between.
Well worth a visit.

Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

On a rainy day in worthing I went to the museum and realised I should have visited before. The staff are helpful and willing to chat about the exhibitions ... I was impressed with their sculpture garden.

Thank Claudia1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing M, Front Office Manager at Worthing Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us recently and thank you for your comments. The sculptures which were in the garden have now been taken down but we do have a new display going in at the end of June. This will be an exhibition by Creative Waves - The WW1 discovery trail. Open to the public from July 1st, we hope to see you then

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Worthing Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to Worthing Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing