We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentines meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial China

Imperial China
Ranked #28 of 347 Restaurants in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Valentines meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Wow..... What a fantastic evening. We had an amazing set menu meal which was Devine. The red wine was flowing and we had a lovely evening. Very good service. I always enjoy my meal here.
Thanks imperial you guys rock.
Lee & Tim

Helpful?
3 Thank Sussexflyers7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialChina1, Manager at Imperial China, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad to hear we made your valentines evening a fantastic one. You rock for coming to us! Look forward to seeing you again. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    59
    18
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The food is expensive BUT ... It's good. The service is impeccable - nothing is too much trouble.
Go for a special occasion and you won't be disappointed

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialChina1, Manager at Imperial China, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again. John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Having not been to the Imperial China for a few years, I am still pleased with the amount of attention you get from the servers. The food was lovely and extremely tasty and decent size portions. The thing that surprised me was the adding of an extra 20% to the bill because there was six of us, it wasn't even written into the menu. I don't mind the extra 20% but a bit of warning would of been nice and since when do restaurants in Worthing add extra to the bill, I expect it from restaurants in London but not here. The set meals were not exactly cheap either so they make an awful lot of money out of you in one sitting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialChina1, Manager at Imperial China, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Caroline, thank you very much for your review. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and service. Though I do apologise we do not charge 20% extra for tables of 6 or more but we know some other restaurants may, we only charge 10% service charge to all bills like some other good restaurants. Look forward to seeing you again. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

By chance we found the Imperial China in Worthing and we were not disappointed. As vegetarians we found the menu offered a variety of dishes so many that it was difficult to make a choice! There are set menus including one for vegetarians. In the end we opted for the "Imperial" Mixed Hor's D'oeuvres, and for main, stir fried chinese greens (bok choy) and bean curd with green peppers and black bean sauce. We had a side of steamed rice and a half bottle of Sauvignon Blanc. Each dish was tasty and all reasonably priced. Service was attentive but not intrusive. We would definitely visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank happyhousesitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialChina1, Manager at Imperial China, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank very much for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your food. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent - hasn't let us down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

An excellent Chinese - brilliant, friendly, service and great food. It has become one of our regulars. We prefer to avoid the manic periods by going earlier (around 6pm) and midweek (for good atmosphere, as the evening customers arrive, and staff (and the kitchen???) have more time).

Not cheap, but not too expensive, either. Worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AddictedToSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialChina1, Manager at Imperial China, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we thank you for your praise. We hope to see you again. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial China also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to Imperial China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing