We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly authentic high quality Chinese restaurant”
Review of Imperial China

Imperial China
Ranked #28 of 353 Restaurants in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Worthing
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly authentic high quality Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We've been eating here about three times a year for several years now. We enjoy the friendly welcome, attentive service and excellent food. Definitely the best Chinese food in Worthing.

Helpful?
4 Thank Riachuelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    60
    19
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Small portions and overpriced”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We decided to try Imperial China as the reviews appeared to be very good.

My husband and I ate at the Imperial China 04/08/12 we had not booked a table but we were seated very quickly. As it was a Saturday night and 7pm we expected there would be a delay, we were the first diners. First impressions the restaurant is very well presented, the staff attentive and very pleasant, all in all a very pleasing start to the evening.

We opted for a set menu for two priced at £23 per head so not cheap. Our expectations were high after the great reviews. The starter arrived which was very nicely presented but the food nothing special. Followed by the crispy duck with only 4 pancakes and limited vegetables, we ended up eating most of the duck on its own.

Then the main arrived, to say we were shocked at the portion size was an understatement. The prawn dish allowed us to have three prawns each (very tasty) the sizzling steak was gorgeous but very little of it. We ordered a chicken curry which is probably the best we have tasted in Sussex the portion size was adequate at best. The rice was great but the portion size was only enough for one person (a small bowl), we had to request a further bowl of rice which cost us a further £5.

We wanted to order a pudding, the battered ice cream, we were advised by the waiter that they were now very busy and it may not now be on the menu, we counted a further eight people in the restaurant so were amazed when the waiter said this. He came back and advised that there would be at least a 15 minute wait, we decided not to wait. (The pudding is either on the menu or it isn't)

Then came the last shock the bill £67.10 including a 10% sevice charge which we had not realised, we had two soft drinks each, again they appeared to be on the small side.

We feel that the Imperial China management need to look at there portion sizes, we came away still hungry which we have never experienced before. Complimentary prawn crackers would have been nice at the start, rice and panckes cost very little so there should be plenty of each of these.

Nine of us went to 'Chopstix' in littlehampton last week. We opted for a similar set menu and all had three drinks each, the food was lovely, we were full to the brim, staff attentive. More importantly the bill £147 no sevice charge applied= value for money, lovely food and happy customers

Sorry Imperial China your portions a very small and you are very overpriced. We won't be back unless things change which is a shame as the food and service was very good, but 'Chopstix' and the 'China Inn' near Bognor are just as good and offer better value for money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Linnende15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful.”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We've been enjoying intermittant lunch time meals here for several years and its hard not to keep returning: Not only is the food so tasty, the ambience so Chinese; but the service is also excellent. AND - the staff are so curtious; so friendly! Its hard to keep away.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sublimefolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Went here with friends - super.
Great menu, very comfortable, great atmosphere

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri3042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Some good food,some average food”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We came here for my daughter's 18th birthday.Lovely interior,very friendly,efficient service. We ate from one of the set menus and found two of the dishes quite bland but the others were very good.Prices above average. To be honest we were a bit disappointed having read the good reviews on here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arun7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial China also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to Imperial China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing