We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What went wrong with the rebuild?”

Bell Inn- Hungry Horse
Ranked #44 of 185 Restaurants in Yeovil
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: British, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Bell is an attractive large Hungry Horse pub fully refurbished Winter 2013. On the fringe of town, one mile outside Yeovil town centre, the pub is in a quiet suburban area near the Business Park. Like all Hungry Horses we are renowned for serving value for money, delicious food from a main menu with a massive range of dishes to choose from. We have fantastic booth seating in the restaurant for more intimate or family dining. There is something here to suit all ages which, along with the pub's children's facilities, makes the Bell Inn ideal for families. We have a good locals following with customers turning up to have a quiet pint with friends or watch an exciting match on the big screen. Our other sports facilities include a pool table and Sky sports. The bar area is for adults only with a wide choice of drinks. If you are looking for a family friendly pub, a place to relax with a pint or sample a hearty meal, The Bell is just right for you
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What went wrong with the rebuild?”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Well, what can I say... Other than shocking!
We went in for dinner after hearing mixed reviews. You're the only person who can judge for yourself at the end of the day...
Hmmm....
My chicken was dry, the chips barely warm and my wifes meal was even worse than mine!
You would think with a brand new place, the team would be more than enthusiastic to make your visit a great one... Instead it was the complete opposite.
Made to feel like we were doing them a favour by being in there - that's when you were even acknowledged!
Dirty tables, menus ect...
Not good!
Wont be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    96
    56
    45
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montecatini Terme, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“What Chicken produces your eggs???”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Visited the Hungry Horse on recent visit to UK...seemed a nice refurb after their recent fire...Friendly staff...But who is tasked with procuring your produce??? The eggs are incredible...must be from new strain of micro chickens!!! Last time ate eggs like this they were from a bag of Haribos... Please try harder with your menu...if you are trying to keep to a price point...please raise it and up the quality...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Never again!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The staff were really friendly and efficient but the food was terrible!! I had the cheesy leak tart, with new potatoes and 'side salad' (tiny bit of lettuce and cucumber) - the tart looked like it had been dropped on the floor, was very over cooked and dry and the new potatoes were gritty and hard - under cooked! My husband had the fish and chips and that was pretty grim too!! Luckily our meals were ' two for £8.49' (which is a good deal) but the food wasn't even worth that! Would have been gutted if we had have paid any more!! We won't be going back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not for people who like fresh food!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I went with 6 others including 2 children for sat lunch, it was in no way busy when we arrived at midday we ordered in two orders within 5 minutes of arrival and given the wait we had we were expecting fresh food how wrong we were!
The peas were so over cooked or reheated they were closer to grey than green, the chicken on the mixed grill looked like road kill,
My prawn salad was in a hot bowl.
At no point were we asked if our meals were ok even though there was a lot left on our plates, I looked for anyone who might be a manager but gave up after 15 mins.
I won't be returning, not a patch on previous visits.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauratruswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Proper pub grub. ”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband went for a midweek dinner here and aside from my steak being rarer than I'd asked we had a lovely meal. Went back with my 6yr old daughter for lunch and again the food was a good standard. My only complaint would be the Yorkshire pudding was way too overcooked and crispy. The staff are pleasant and we didn't have to wait too long, (although we did come in early on a Sunday lunchtime and by 1pm there was a wait for free tables.)The menu is extensive, prices are great value for money considering the big portion sizes, but if your looking for posh grub this is not the place for you.

Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bell Inn- Hungry Horse also viewed

 

Been to Bell Inn- Hungry Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing