We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little jem on the outskirts of Yeovil” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
yeovil
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“A little jem on the outskirts of Yeovil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

What a great Hotel!!

This is a local Hotel to us on the outskirts of Yeovil. We have over the past few months used the Hotel on many occasions, mainly for evening drinks and Sunday lunches. We have taken Parents and other family members to eat in the restaurant. The food is excellent and the service is equal to the food. All of the staff are welcoming friendly and professional and you get the level of service you would expect from a quality hotel.
We would recommend this restaurant to all our friends and family. A really good venue for family celebrations.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adecoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    70
    31
    26
    4
See reviews for
40
69
14
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

My double room was large, clean and well-equipped. My friend's suite was even better. The bed was a little hard for me, but that's a matter of personal choice and I prefer a soft one whereas my friend was pleased with his, and he's an orthopedic surgeon. The restaurant produced well-cooked, very attractively presented food for all three courses. Couple of decent ales on draught, and a nice bottle of wine. Service throughout was pleasant, attentive and proper. All round therefore a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honestobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

Okay, times are hard and Yeovil is not the centre of the World but, as a regular (weekly) user of hotels, I felt this place did not reach basic standard in some ways. For example:

- cheap mattress (Travelodge's are better . . . yes, that's what I said . . . Travelodge's are better);

- rusty soap-holders;

- charming but poorly-trained staff (e.g. bringing food to the table before you had finished the previous course).

Nothing dreadful, but I was left with a feeling that the manager or owner had lost enthusiasm for his/her business. Not up to the room-rate.

But quite a nice little hotel in a noce spot and the staff members' natural charm (not just the girls but the lads too) helped even things out.

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Traveller644364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

I'm writing this review eating my breakfast at the hotel. Firstly, I have to say the food isn't too bad so don't despair if you need a decent breakfast although I have found egg shell in the eggs.

My room: desperately in need of updating and modernising. Old fashioned, no head board, noisy in terms of hearing the traffic, the man next door sneezing and random motor sounds in the middle of the night like a hoover. The shower is archaic and noisy, the bathroom is just....eugh. Give me a Premier Inn any day of the week, at very least quality is consistent unlike this old dump.

The door locks are terrible to the point the receptionist mentions their awkwardness to people checking in - I mean, hello owners? Change them!

All in all, for nearly £90 a night, terrible. I've had little sleep, a Luke warm shower and can't wait to check out.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noskibabe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Another 2 nights spent in August with probably another 8 nights to be taken between now and the end of the year. I say proabably as the food was not quite up to previous visits (I've spent at least 10 nights here over the last year as have to be in Yeovil for business on a monthly basis). Stayed in the Brymton suite this time which was fine although the bathroom could have been more thoroughly cleaned - the odd hair here and there which really is not nice.

Now onto the food, which was the primary reason for deciding on this hotel when I started to have to visit Yeovil regulary. Having now visited in Autumn, Winter, Spring and Summer, I can report that there is very little evidence of seasonality on the menu and overall it's more of a Autumn/Winter menu then anything else. Having said, that everything I had eaten before this trip was totally 1st rate. I understand that a different chef took over earlier this year and if my 2 meals last week were anything to go by then I suspect the retention of the 2 AA Rosettes may be a challenge. First night, I ordered the black pudding scotch egg to start which I expected to be a cold starter. It was a hot starter and when I cut into the 'egg' the molten black pudding oozed all over the plate like a puddle of....... Totally visually disgusting and therefore inedible (this is one of the new additions to the menu by the new chef). Main course that night was the fillet of beef which came with a foul sauce that was far too salty and reduced. The steak was well cooked but the sauce was so overpowering it maksed any flavour from the beef (which was sat in a puddle of the sauce thus providing no option of avoiding the taste). Pudding was a highlight though - a lovely elderflower panacotta with poached rhubarb. 2nd night - ordered the scallops to start which have beem a mainstay on the menu all the while I had visited but were overcooked for the 1st time. Also, why serve them with roe? I then had the griiled lemon sole with fries and rocket and parmesan salad - another mainstay - this was fine. Desert was a banana and toffee crumble tart which was too big and too rich - really needed to be refined and reduced in quantiy.

By comparison, I visited a local (Norwich) 2 AA Rosette restaurant at the weekend and it was leagues above Yeovil Court Hotel in terms of finesse, taste and innovation.

I fear that the new chef at YCH could lose the 2 AA Rosetter this year unless thing s improve.

Ok, enough said about the food but I wanted to make the point and I hope the hotel management take time to review this. I will still use this hotel for my monthly visit to Yeovil as the staff are charming and quite frankly there is no competition other than Lanes which is ruled out as has little or no mobile phone service (essential for when I'm away on business).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Espaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

Booked to stay at the Yeovil Court Hotel on way to family holiday in Cornwall. From the moment I booked the holiday until we left the staff were excellent and service friendly, welcome and attentive.
We have young children so it made sense to beak up the long car journey to Cornwall with a stop in Yeovil.
The food in the restaurant was excellent. Dinner and breakfast were of excellent quality. Lovely big family room.
Tried booking here for the return leg but unfortunately the restarant was closed due to a wedding so we styed at the nearby 'Lanes' in West Coker, which was good but didn't have the same ambience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddieh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
1.1 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 175 West Coker Road, Yeovil BA20 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned independent, stylish hotel set in the South West of England.Situated on the outskirts of Yeovil, nestling between picturesque rolling countryside and the convenience of town facilities, the hotel is ideally located as a base for business or pleasure with easy access to the A303, A30 and M5 motorway. The Yeovil Court Hotel is known for its excellent food and quality service at a sensible price. It has received significant acclaim and has a strong following from home and overseas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing