We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for business stay but watch out for pricing structure”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Manor
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Truro
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for business stay but watch out for pricing structure”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been staying in The Manor for some time for business when i have to be in this part of Somerset. The rooms are comfortable and clean, beds are super comfortable, and the food is good. All in all, a nice and welcoming place to stay - the staff can't do enough for you. The downside is the greedy parent Company, Old English Inns, who have introduced a pricing structure whereby as the rooms sell for a night, the price of the remaining rooms goes up, to the point where the price of my room can vary between £60 and nearly £130, not including breakfast. This is a total rip off, so be warned! Such a shame, because every other aspect of The Manor is so nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, avoid the annexe and the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    200
    117
    39
    43
See reviews for
76
233
21
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Staff were very welcoming and helpful. We stayed overnight for business and whilst by no means the most lush hotel we have stayed in, it was great value for the money. Very close proximity to the town centre. Bar and beer garden were very nice. Restaurant was standard fare but nice atmosphere. The room was clean - the bed a bit lumpy but easily put up with given the great value and overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraTheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights over the August bank holiday. A great location at the end of the town centre and decent rates made it stand out.

There is a pay and display car park on-site, free for people staying. When we arrived there weren't many spaces free and I can imagine it would fill up on busy weekends with people visiting the pub. Checking-in was fine and we were given the key to our room in the 'Old Stables', a separate building at the rear of the car park.

The room was adequate, clean with a very comfortable bed. We were in room 48 on the ground floor. View was over a small grassed area at the side of the car park. The window was of a sliding design, and therefore not suitable to leave open when out of the room or during the night, as it would slide open fully. Within the wardrobe there was an iron and board, with plenty of coat hangers. A major frustration of mine occurred again - no plug sockets next to the bed!

The bathroom was also fine, with a powerful shower above the bath and plenty of towels. Only a single small bottle of shower gel was provided though, and no shampoo.

Our major issue with the bedroom was with 'creaking' during the night. This was either someone upstairs constantly walking around, or creaking caused by the wind outside. Either way it was enough to cause a disturbed night's sleep.

The bar within the main building was great for relaxing during an afternoon and prices were very reasonable. We dined in the main restaurant on the first night. No complaints over the food, but there was only one waitress for the whole restaurant, which meant she was clearly running around overwhelmed and extra service was slow, such as asking for extra drinks which took a good ten minutes to arrive.

We had breakfast on both mornings. This is a buffet but also cooked options to order. Tea and coffee was brought in a timely manner, but toast took a good ten minutes. We were surprised that for two people we were brought just one slice, cut into two triangles. Of course this meant we had to ask for more, taking another ten minutes to arrive. The buffet was also lacking at times - the first morning there were no glasses, plates and only one type of pastry left. Re-stocking of this area didn't appear to take place often.

Overall this was an adequate place to stay, but there is a little lack of attention to detail. Nice clean buildings and rooms, but I probably would look around if I was to visit the area again.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms in the Old Stables if you want to leave a window open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevebintley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Do not book a twin room and be put in the attic! Shower a dribble! Half an hour to get hot water! Breakfast a mess. Few staff and when mentioned staff blamed sickness and holidays which as a paying guest you do not want to hear. Scrambled eggs are tasteless toast done only on one side and when I asked why told that's how the toaster works!!! Will not be going back!! We could here the man using his toilet all night in the room next door!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yeovil hotels

crickhowell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A room in the stables sounded good but it was a terrible disappointment . A dark small room on the ground floor which was really hot.. We could not leave the window open at night because of the ease with which anyone could have entered the room from the car park outside. Noise from the room upstairs carried through the ceiling, we could hear every movement . The result was a disturbed and sleepless night. It was so bad that we left after breakfast, having been told that no other room was available, but of course we were charged for two nights even though we stayed for only one bad night. It was an expensive stay costing us £185 for the room.
The food was OK and the staff were friendly but we will not be using old English Inns again if this is their normal standard.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room in the stables ask for a room in the main hotel and ask to see it before accept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merryl180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, brand at The Manor, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us to the extent that you left a day early. The rooms on the groundfloor in the old stables do vary in size as is the nature of the building, I am sorry that you felt you could not leave the window open at night we are currently in the process of putting restrictors on all of our groundfloor rooms to enable everyone to feel comfortable about leaving their window open. I agree that the rooms can be noisy it is an old building with features such as creaking floor boards although we are looking at our sound proofing to improve the level of noise that can be heard. I am pleased that you found the staff friendly and have fed this back to them.

Again thank you for taking the time to write a review as without such feedback we are unable improve our level of service.

Laura Beedle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Got a room in the "stables". It was a double room. Only just. Enough room to stand at each side of the bed, but that was about it. Minimally decorated, but clean. Bathroom was cramped. Bar staff (one girl in particular) was quite rude and dismissive and made assumptions that I knew how to do things as if I'd stayed there before and was not open to any banter whatsoever. Made you feel quite unwelcome. Had to pay for everything at the bar as the lady on check-in desk forgot to take a swipe of my card. Lacked warmth. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveYeaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, brand at The Manor, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you felt unwelcome at the bar and have spoken to the entire team about explaining how things work to all guests rather than assuming that guests have stayed before. I have also spoken to our reception team and explained to them the importance of asking every guest if they would prefer to charge to room or pay at the bar & restaurant. Our rooms do all vary in size and orientation and I am sorry that you felt it was small, I am pleased that you found the room in clean condition and have fed this back to our housekeeping team.

If you would like to discuss anything please do contact us directly.

Again thank you for taking the time to write a review as without such feedback we cannot improve our level of service.

Laura Beedle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Three day break for my wife and I. The drinks were reasonably priced. My full English breakfast arrived very quickly each morning and tasted great. Cheerful waiter helped the day start well.
However, there was a lack of attention to detail
.On the first morning, no plates were on the breakfast bar and I had to rummage around in the cupboard to find some. Each morning there were only well baked (burnt?) croissants available, but this was at 8.30 so perhaps all the good ones went first.
One morning I had to eat with the pleasant sound of a hoover doing what hoovers do only about 6 feet away. Why cant this be done outside breakfast times?
Liquids used to wipe the tables and dusters were left on a table as you entered the dining room from the hall. These should be out of sight.
Staff were slow to clear used dishes from the tables. On one morning I only had a choice of 2 tables as used dishes lay on another 6.
No hairdrier in the room, only discovered this after washing hair, dohh!
Room was OK but has peeling paint on the old metal windows.
Bed was comfy.
Blinds or nets on the windows would be an idea.
Returned one night to find an unwashed cup on the tea tray although new bisciuts had been placed there.
Hope that the broken paving slab just outside the entrance to the annex has now been replaced. A red and white bollard was on this trip hazard when we arrived--it was stili there when we left 3 days later.
These things were, individually, fairly insignificant but put them alltogether and it tells it own story.
Wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klingoneddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, brand at The Manor, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your full breakfast & the waiter helped make the start of the day. I am sorry to hear that you had several issues with the breakfast set up and have fed back everything to our kitchen & front of house teams to make them aware. The kitchen team are now baking croissants daily and ensuring they are not overdone, the front of house team are check the breakfast buffet more regularily to ensure that it does not run out of plates or bowls. I have picked up with our housekeeping team about timings of when they complete tasks such as hoovering to be outside of food service times. I have reiterated to our front of house team that cleaning chemicals & cloths should be kept in their cupboard out of view. The team do endeavour to clear the tables in a timely manner and I am sorry that you only had 2 tables to choose from on this occasion. I have asked our housekeeping team to ensure that there is a hairdryer in every room, ensure that they complete all service requirements including replacing dirty cups with clean thank you for bringing this to our attention. I can assure you that the paving slab outside the old stables has now been replaced. The hotel was refurbished in Novemebr 2011 and some areas are beginning to show wear and tear we do have a plan in place to repaint areas such as windows thank you for letting us know. We do have net curtains in our ground floor rooms as these are in eye line view from the car park however we do take the comment on board. I am pleased that you found the bed comfortable.

If you would like to discuss anything please contact us directly.



Laura Beedle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
5.7 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
249 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
183 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
4.7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Property: The Manor
Address: 26 Hendford, Yeovil BA20 1TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished three years ago The Manor is located in the Somerset town of Yeovil with easy access via the A303. An Ideal base if visiting Yeovilton, Sherborne. Built in 1735 by local glover and merchant banker John Daniel, the house was known as Hendford House. After he passed away the house was rented out until 1927 when it became The Manor Hotel. A manor it may not be, but it is certainly elegant enough to be one. Its classical facade and porch are of warm, mellow stone, and to its long single wing, also of stone. It has a cheerful modern bar with scrubbed floorboards and pale beechwood furniture and fittings. Today the hotel is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike. You will be assured of a very warm welcome and great hospitality. Yeovil is the ideal spot from which to explore Hardy's Wessex. Nearby attractions include Glastonbury Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing