We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you!”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Manor
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thank you!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just wanted to say a quick thank you to the staff at the Manor Hotel!

Following a recent stay at the hotel which was made all the better by the high standard of service and the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. The hotel itself mirrors the staff and is warm and inviting. I have already recommended this hotel to friends and family and look forward to the next time we are in the area as will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonnisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Manor, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are pleased to hear that you find the hotel and the team to be warm and inviting and do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Damian & Roger, General Manager’s

Many Thanks
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    196
    116
    38
    39
See reviews for
75
230
19
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at the manor hotel for a friends wedding and it was amazing!!
The staff where so friendly and helpful and handled the wedding with such class and professionalism.

We stayed on the ground floor for the old stable block in a twin and from reading the reviews on here, I was a little concerned with comments like hearing everything from above and the size of the room, so I was pleasantly surprised that we heard very few foot steps and the room was a lovely size.....I do believe after staying at the manor that people forget that it is an OLD BUILDING and you will hear other people.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyper-sas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Manor, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful few days and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards, Damian & Roger, General Manager’s

Many Thanks
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Whenever I visit the Manor I always find the management and staff helpful and friendly even when they are really busy. The Manor is very popular for Weddings and you should take this into consideration when booking a room for an overnight stay. Really is a change to visit somewhere where the staff seem to enjoy working!

Room Tip: Check if there is a Wedding on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Manor, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are pleased to hear that you find the whole team to be friendly and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards, Damian & Roger, General Manager’s

Many Thanks
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After attending the reopening of the Manor Hotel my partner and I decided to stay on and try out one of their lunches. All the staff where walking around with real smiles and their body language said they where enjoying their work. The service in the restaurant was wonderful, The décor was relaxing and extremely pleasant. Our meal arrived within good time and was well presented and served. The food was hot, very nicely cooked and tasted great. We enjoyed it that much we had no hesitation taking friends along for a meal and recommending it to others. My step daughter even chose the Manor Hotel for her wedding reception knowing that the service and food would not let her down. We have since held important functions there ourselves inviting some very influential people along knowing we could trust the staff to cater for our requirments. This is now the only place in Yeovil I would go for a meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Manor, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for your kind words.

Your comments really do mean a lot to the entire team and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A very pleasant stay, the staff being personable, friendly and efficient. The room was comfortable enough although only four coathangars gave a little problem and downward sloping shelf in the bathroom had our toiletries crashing all over the place. Just minor irritations though that did not impair our stay.
The restaurant was good. Enthusiastic staff with well cooked food at reasonable prices.
The staff seemed to cope well with a wedding reception without forgetting the needs of other guests.
We would definately return in the future

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Manor, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a very pleasant stay and found the team to be friendly and efficient.

We are sorry that the bathroom shelf was sloping and have now fixed this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor very soon.

Kind Regards, Damian & Roger, General Manager’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Double room in annex. Had to either walk across car park to main building or via first floor bridge. Neither convenient for disabled wife. Room really tiny. Had to leave wheelchair in car. Only one bedside cabinet, as room was not wide enough for two. Only one single wardrobe, and only two drawers in room. Only 5 hangers. Asked reception for more, said they did not have any. Bathroom really tiny. Bath filled length. Depth less than length of towel (I checked). Room not particularly clean (found key card of guest who stayed four nights previously in room) Bed not made or room serviced when we returned second night at 7pm. I tried ringing reception regarding thison internal phone but got no answer. I tried ringing the hotels outside number from my mobile and got a recorded message saying that if I left my name and number someone would call me back within 30 minutes. I went to reception but no staff were there just a message to contact them by phone! Reception adjoins the bar and there were loads of unruly kids running round and round the area. I phoned head office (Greene King). They phoned me back and said they could not contact hotel either! Suggested I went to bar and asked for duty manager. I did and message came back “what did I want as she was busy!” I said when she saw me I would tell her but head office were ringing me back again in 5 minutes. When Duty Manager came said she would get room serviced but made it sound as if she were doing me a real favour. Said that there were bigger rooms but these were in main house so not recommended because of noise from functions. Head office wrote apologising subsequently. Only offer of compensation offered was upgrade if I stayed again – given what duty manager said about noisy functions will not take up that offer!

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkCunard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Manor, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Further to our letter that was sent directly to yourselves we are sorry that The Manor failed to meet your requirements.

The Manor is an 18th Century building and we do have limited disabled access. We do have ground floor rooms in the Old Stables, although these are not described as disabled rooms.

With regards to your room not being serviced then it is regrettable that a ‘Still Sleeping’ Sign was left on your door. Our Housekeeping team do go back to rooms before they finish for the day to check if this is still the case and on this occasion it was.

When you spoke to the Duty Manager then she arranged for a team member to service the room as soon as it was possible to do so.

The Manor is a busy venue for Weddings and other functions and it is regrettable that on the date in question the cordless telephone had run out of batteries and this had not been noticed. We are sorry to hear that this caused an inconvenience during your stay.

Kind Regards, Damian & Roger, General Manager’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yeovil hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Attending Yeovil on a training course and my company put me in this hotel.Booked into my room the first evening room very basic but clean went to go down to eat only to be told that the restaurant was reserved for a coach party, had to eat in the bar area the first night I ordered the Steak & Ale Pie well the pastry was so hard it had clearly been warmed up I went to bed Hungry.Next morning at B/fast restaurant still reserved for the coach party so had to eat in the top part only, found out the party were there all week At the end of the 2nd day returned to room and went down to eat At 2000hrs decided to have Hunters Chicken The nearest it got to that was the fact it was Chicken terrible the chips with it was burnt and nothing on the chicken.The 3 rd night was curry night to be fair I was able to eat and it tasted good.Next morning went to shower but no hot water so it was a cold one. went down to B/fast to find nothing set out and staff running late. My company payed good money to this Hotel so that we were comfortable whilst away from home this to me was a nightmare. needless to say a report will be going in to our office maybe it will stop anyone else from our company from staying there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompeypaul190551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Manor, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you found your stay at The Manor to be a ‘nightmare’.

During your stay then we did also have a coach party staying which we reserved a number of tables in the Restaurant for. There were however still tables in the Restaurant to be booked. It is regrettable that on your first night the tables had already been booked. We do also have a Conservatory which is part of the Bar and this area serves the same menu as the Restaurant.

With regards to the food then we can only apologise for what you describe, if this had been brought to our attention at the time then we could have rectified this as this is not the standard of hospitality that we set ourselves.

On your last morning then there was a problem with one of the water boilers which is what the Breakfast team members were dealing with. We are sorry if it appeared that they were running late but we can assure you that this was not the case.

We have many business guests that use The Manor and we always aim to give a home from home experience and we are sorry that on this occasion you did not feel this.

Kind Regards, Damian & Roger, General Manager’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
2.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Property: The Manor
Address: 26 Hendford, Yeovil BA20 1TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished three years ago The Manor is located in the Somerset town of Yeovil with easy access via the A303. An Ideal base if visiting Yeovilton, Sherborne. Built in 1735 by local glover and merchant banker John Daniel, the house was known as Hendford House. After he passed away the house was rented out until 1927 when it became The Manor Hotel. A manor it may not be, but it is certainly elegant enough to be one. Its classical facade and porch are of warm, mellow stone, and to its long single wing, also of stone. It has a cheerful modern bar with scrubbed floorboards and pale beechwood furniture and fittings. Today the hotel is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike. You will be assured of a very warm welcome and great hospitality. Yeovil is the ideal spot from which to explore Hardy's Wessex. Nearby attractions include Glastonbury Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing