We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly staff”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly staff”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stopped here for a break on our way further west. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was comfortable, although there wasn't much in the way of toiletries. The room was rather warm although it wasn't that hot outside - I suspect that in warm weather the room would become uncomfortably hot. The meal in the restaurant was fairly good although my T-bone steak was rather tough with lots of gristle/sinew. However it was cooked rare as I'd requested. Breakfast was good and included in the £60 room rate. Possibly the best aspect of the hotel was the friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre for shopping or if you want to try other restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeLaLe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Manor, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you found The Manor to be a little worn and tired. We did have a refurbishment in November 2011 and have just hired a painter/decorator to keep the décor to a higher standard.

Our Superior rooms are larger rooms than our standard ones and 2 of them do have Four Poster Beds with roll top baths and a separate shower. The difference in price for these rooms is £20 per night.

The Restaurant does have a mixture of tables and we are sorry to hear that this area was not to your liking. We are however pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining in our Conservatory. This is area is also licensed for Civil Ceremonies and we do have Weddings taking place at The Manor most weekends. The Conservatory is also used for break out areas when we have meetings taking place in our function room and is a perfect area for our guests to enjoy a quiet drink.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Kind Regards Damian & Roger General Manager’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    201
    122
    40
    44
See reviews for
79
237
21
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I would say this is just the next step up from a good pub. We paid for the superior room which is really what would be classed as a standard room elsewhere but with a four poster bed .A tired room in need of brightening up. Curtains hanging off of the rail , no toiletries at all except a small 50p size piece of soap and you have to shut the curtains in daylight as the buildings opposite can see straight in . It is clean, tidy and very friendly place a little worn and tired but I would say if it was a quick overnight stop for business people or travellers it is just the place as it is a very comfortable atmosphere. Many thanks to Laura very friendly and helpful and a real asset to this hotel.
We booked a table for two in the restaurant but when I saw where we were to sit , literally not even 6 inches between each table in a row of tables we asked for the conservatory and went in there. I want to have my dinner with my husband not virtually share a table with strangers.
The conservatory however could be lovely, I felt it was a waste of an excellent asset. It could be made into a fantastic dining area much better than the actual dining room and although a little tatty furniture wise etc at the moment , a lovely area to eat in. We got the non flexible rate for the room £125.00 and would I pay that again for the room , No, and definitely not the £145.00 rate there is much better in the area but not as close to the shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BijanSale_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Manor, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you found The Manor to be a little worn and tired. We did have a refurbishment in November 2011 and have just hired a painter/decorator to keep the décor to a higher standard.

Our Superior rooms are larger rooms than our standard ones and 2 of them do have Four Poster Beds with roll top baths and a separate shower. The difference in price for these rooms is £20 per night.

The Restaurant does have a mixture of tables and we are sorry to hear that this area was not to your liking. We are however pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining in our Conservatory. This is area is also licensed for Civil Ceremonies and we do have Weddings taking place at The Manor most weekends. The Conservatory is also used for break out areas when we have meetings taking place in our function room and is a perfect area for our guests to enjoy a quiet drink.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Kind Regards Damian & Roger General Manager’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed for a night while visiting relatives. The staff (especially the receptionist ) were very polite and helpful . The room was clean and quiet. The food was good but the service was a bit slow. Over all it was a good stay and very good value for money.

Room Tip: If there is a wedding on ask them to give you a room at the new building that is at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Manor, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you found the team to be polite and helpful and our reception is very pleased to read your comment.

We are sorry to hear that the service was slow on this occasion and have looked at the date in question to ensure that this was a one off.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Yeovil. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Double room was small but very clean with a good bathroom/shower. Food was good and the bar was very comfortable to relax in as well as the extensive garden area. Overall very pleased and great value for money, albeit, I only spent one night there,.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Manor, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Yeovil. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in room 9 after having out wedding at The Manor. The room was lovely, great space, comfy bed with additional pillows. An iron, shower, bath with a huge bathroom.
Great hotel, breakfast was fab, lovely staff. Faultless.. Yes one on the windows wouldn't stay up, so what??
Open the other one.

Thank you The Manor for everything. We will be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Manor, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you found your stay and Wedding faultless. We look forward to seeing the Wedding Photos when you are next in. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in several Old Eglish Inns before, they represent good value for money.
The room was clean and tidy as was the whole hotel. The food was good value with a wide menue choice. Staff were helpful and well trained, its not five star, but niether is the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Manor, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be clean & tidy and that you found our team helpful & well trained. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor. Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager’s..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent two nights in room 9, which was very nice. The drawback: the room is at the front and faces onto modern office-type buildings across a main road; the windows weren't working (sash cords broken?), so to have one open we had to prop it on a cushion. The pros: a nice big room with a comfortable four-poster, a nice big en-suite bathroom up a few steps (three?), the staff all very friendly and helpful. As for the food, avoid the coffee (too weak and not hot) and don't go for the a la carte menu. We did much better on our first night when we went with the simple set menu and had macaroni cheese and baked haddock/cheese pie or whatever - can't go too far wrong with them. My steak and ale pie wasn't good, tasted very much like one bought at a supermarket or somewhere. The thing to do would be to eat out. Otherwise pretty comfortable and reasonable value if you have a discount (as we did through English Heritage). The hotel is probably mainly for business people or tour companies, but it is very near the centre of Yeovil and very convenient for visiting all sorts of places.

Room Tip: As I've said above, we were in room 9 which was nice. The rooms at the front face a main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Manor, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are sorry to hear that the window would not stay open in your room, the sash cords have been looked at and the window does now stay open when pushed fully open.

We are pleased to hear that the four poster bed was comfortable and that the team were friendly and helpful.

The coffee we serve is illy and we have relooked at the amount used to make the Breakfast coffee to ensure that it is the correct strength.

We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the Steak & Ruddles Ale Pie that is on our Menu. We have let our food development team know of your comments. Alongside our set menu which includes mains for only £5.95 or 3 courses for £9.95 we are due to also launch some new daily specials which we hope will cater for everyone’s taste.

Should you have the need to stay in Yeovil again then we do hope that you will choose The Manor.

Kind Regards Damian & Roger, General Manager’s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
2.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
191 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
6.2 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Property: The Manor
Address: 26 Hendford, Yeovil BA20 1TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished three years ago The Manor is located in the Somerset town of Yeovil with easy access via the A303. An Ideal base if visiting Yeovilton, Sherborne. Built in 1735 by local glover and merchant banker John Daniel, the house was known as Hendford House. After he passed away the house was rented out until 1927 when it became The Manor Hotel. A manor it may not be, but it is certainly elegant enough to be one. Its classical facade and porch are of warm, mellow stone, and to its long single wing, also of stone. It has a cheerful modern bar with scrubbed floorboards and pale beechwood furniture and fittings. Today the hotel is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike. You will be assured of a very warm welcome and great hospitality. Yeovil is the ideal spot from which to explore Hardy's Wessex. Nearby attractions include Glastonbury Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing